Home Formula 2 Carlin’s Daruvala fastest again in final afternoon of F2 test

Carlin’s Daruvala fastest again in final afternoon of F2 test

by Ida Wood

Photo: FIA Formula 2

Jehan Daruvala once again set the pace for Carlin in the final afternoon of Formula 2’s pre-season Bahrain test.

The Indian focused on fast laps at the very start of the two-and-a-half hour session, laying down his unbeaten 1m43.428s lap 19 minutes in to the day.

His fellow Red Bull junior and team-mate Yuki Tsunoda set his best lap at the same time, and it wasn’t until the end of the first hour that their lock over the top two positions was broken by HWA Racelab’s Giuliano Alesi.

The debuting HWA team racked up a lot of early laps, and series veteran Artem Markelov gradually improved his pace to complete the top four, 0.254s behind.

Charouz Racing System’s Louis Deletraz and Campos Racing’s Guilherme Samaia were the only other two drivers to really focus on setting a flying lap, doing so at the same time as the Carlin drivers and finishing fifth and sixth on the timesheet.

The rest of the session was spent on long runs for all teams, with Dan Ticktum making up for the laps he lost earlier in the three-day test due to a problem with his DAMS-run car. His team-mate Sean Gelael followed a similar strategy of doing race simulations earlier in the day, and both drivers ended up in the top 10 on fastest lap times.

Hitech GP, which like HWA is new to F2 this year, ran the least laps but Luca Ghiotto did end his last stint by going 13th fastest. Pedro Piquet had a similarly low lap count for Charouz, having sat out the first hour of the session.


Afternoon session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m43.428s 33
2 Giuliano Alesi HWA Racelab 1m43.438s +0.010s 20
3 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 1m43.632s +0.204s 31
4 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab 1m43.682s +0.254s 37
5 Louis Deletraz Charouz Racing System 1m43.916s +0.488s 35
6 Guilherme Samaia Campos Racing 1m44.936s +1.508s 40
7 Sean Gelael DAMS 1m46.170s +2.742s 48
8 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport 1m46.448s +3.020s 45
9 Callum Ilott Virtuosi Racing 1m46.659s +3.231s 35
10 Dan Ticktum DAMS 1m46.778s +3.350s 46
11 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m46.902s +3.474s 42
12 Roy Nissany Trident 1m46.926s +3.498s 43
13 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP 1m47.111s +3.683s 29
14 Mick Schumacher Prema 1m47.367s +3.939s 39
15 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi Racing 1m47.443s +4.015s 44
16 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1m47.491s +4.063s 40
17 Pedro Piquet Charouz Racing System 1m47.676s +4.248s 31
18 Jack Aitken Campos Racing 1m42.852s +4.424s 37
19 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP 1m47.969s +4.541s 24
20 Sergey Sirotkin ART Grand Prix 1m48.249s +4.821s 37
21 Marcus Armstrong ART Grand Prix 1m48.336s +4.908s 37
22 Marino Sato Trident 1m48.958s +5.530s 43