Home Featured Campos’s Alex Peroni ends FIA F3 pre-season testing on top

Campos’s Alex Peroni ends FIA F3 pre-season testing on top

by Ida Wood

Photo: FIA F3 Championship / Carl Bingham

Campos Racing’s Alex Peroni set the fastest lap of FIA Formula 3 Championship pre-season testing in Bahrain with three minutes left of the three-day test.

The Australian, who missed the end of the inaugural FIA F3 season after a back-breaking shunt at Monza, skipped the first half of the session then concentrated on qualifying runs and frequently brought himself to the top of the timesheet.

He displaced HWA Racelab duo Jake Hughes and Jack Doohan at the front, who sat in the pitlane at the end after joining much of the grid in using the final 15 minutes of the two-and-a-half hour session to better their best laps.

Carlin had dominated the early running, with Cameron Das setting the pace in the opening few minutes before team-mate Clement Novalak took over first place and occasionally improved on his time to keep himself there for over half the session. The team was caught out when most of the cars took to the track late on, with Novalak being shuffled down to ninth despite improvements and team-mates Das and Enaam Ahmed down to 17th and 23rd.

Logan Sargeant was consistently towards the front and the Prema driver ended the day in fourth place, just short of Hitech GP driver Liam Lawson’s Monday benchmark.

Macau Grand Prix winner Richard Verschoor was similarly consistent and was fifth fastest, while ART Grand Prix managed the traffic at the end to bring two of its drivers into the top 10: Sebastian Fernandez in sixth and Alexander Smolyar in eighth.

The pace of Charouz Racing System looked stronger on older tyres than its opposition, but the best it could do was 10th fastest for Niko Kari and 13th for David Schumacher.

Hitech GP never truly showed its pace and languished towards the bottom of the timesheet amid lengthy periods of keeping its cars in the garage.


Afternoon session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Alex Peroni Campos Racing 1m46.173s 16
2 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 1m46.200s +0.027s 33
3 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab 1m46.324s +0.151s 33
4 Logan Sargeant Prema 1m46.522s +0.349s 31
5 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1m46.590s +0.417s 27
6 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix 1m46.686s +0.513s 31
7 Frederik Vesti Prema 1m46.734s +0.561s 20
8 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m46.744s +0.571s 29
9 Clement Novalak Carlin 1m46.751s +0.578s 30
10 Niko Kari Charouz Racing System 1m46.854s +0.681s 18
11 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab 1m46.884s +0.711s 34
12 Oscar Piastri Prema 1m47.020s +0.847s 31
13 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System 1m47.030s +0.857s 27
14 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m47.249s +1.076s 19
15 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m47.327s +1.154s 30
16 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m47.520s +1.347s 29
17 Cameron Das Carlin 1m47.525s +1.352s 24
18 Lirim Zendeli Trident 1m47.525s +1.352s 30
19 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport 1m47.545s +1.372s 26
20 Sophia Floersch Campos Racing 1m47.547s +1.374s 30
21 Matteo Nannini Jenzer Motorsport 1m47.659s +1.486s 38
22 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing 1m47.712s +1.539s 29
23 Enaam Ahmed Carlin 1m47.837s +1.664s 32
24 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP 1m47.954s +1.781s 27
25 Olli Caldwell Trident 1m47.978s +1.805s 28
26 Igor Fraga Charouz Racing System 1m48.042s +1.869s 30
27 Max Fewtrell Hitech GP 1m48.228s +2.055s 31
28 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 1m50.604s +4.431s 39
29 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 1m50.720s +4.547s 23
30 Devlin DeFrancesco Trident 1m51.158s +4.985s 48