Home Formula 3GB3 Nazim Azman wins reversed grid British F3 race at Brands Hatch

Nazim Azman wins reversed grid British F3 race at Brands Hatch

by Tim Lumb

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Nazim Azman secured his maiden BRDC British F3 win in the reversed grid race at Brands Hatch in a Chris Dittmann Racing one-two.

The Malaysian driver started in third but quickly inherited the lead after Double R Racing’s Pavan Ravishankar and Fortec Motorsports’ Kris Wright collided at Paddock Hill on the opening lap.

After a long safety car period to collect the two cars stuck in the gravel, Azman kept hold of the lead of the race ahead of his team-mate Ayrton Simmons – who had risen from sixth to second.

Simmons kept on the tail of his team-mate during the final half of the race, looking for the chance to secure his third British F3 win of the season, but he couldn’t find a way past Azman before taking the chequered flag at the end of lap 13.

Lanan Racing’s Josh Mason – who started the race alongside Azman in fourth – completed the podium in third place, his third podium of the season.

Neil Verhagen was just able to hold off Double R team-mate Hampus Ericsson for fourth, finishing 0.161 seconds apart.

The Douglas Motorsport duo of Benjamin Pedersen and Ulysse de Pauw were sixth and seventh, ahead of Fortec’s Manuel Maldonado.

The top 10 was rounded off by Carlin driver Lucas Petersson and his championship-leading team-mate Clement Novalak.

Carlin’s other driver – Kaylen Frederick – fell victim to the Paddock Hill gravel trip on lap nine of 13, and was the only other retirement in the field.

Race results (13 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Nazim Azman Chris Dittmann Racing 21m20.981s
2 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing +0.334s
3 Josh Mason Lanan Racing +3.007s
4 Neil Verhagen Double R Racing +4.457s
5 Hampus Ericsson Double R Racing +4.618s
6 Benjamin Pedersen Douglas Motorsport +5.019s
7 Ulysse de Pauw Douglas Motorsport +6.681s
8 Manuel Maldonado Fortec Motorsports +7.254s
9 Lucas Petersson Carlin +7.507s
10 Clement Novalak Carlin +7.969s
11 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +8.533s
12 Kiern Jewiss Douglas Motorsport +8.943s
13 Johnathan Hoggard Fortec Motorsports +9.397s
Ret Kaylen Frederick Carlin
Ret Kris Wright Fortec Motorsports
Ret Pavan Ravishankar Double R Racing
Fastest lap: Simmons, 1m22.220s

Championship Standings
?Novalak 383? ?2 Hoggard 335? ?3 Simmons 308? ?4?Maldonado 251? ?5?Jewiss 250? ?6?Verhagen 244? ?7?De Pauw 226? ?8?Frederick 217? ?9?Ericsson 214? ?10?Chaimongkol 189