Home Featured Schumacher clinches maiden F2 victory in Hungaroring sprint race

Schumacher clinches maiden F2 victory in Hungaroring sprint race

by Kyran Gibbons

Photo: FIA Formula 2

Mick Schumacher clinched his first Formula 2 win after absorbing race-long pressure from Nobuharu Matsushita in the Hungaroring sprint race.

Reigning European Formula 3 champion Schumacher had yet to stand on the F2 podium prior to the reversed grid race, which he started from pole.

Carlin’s Matsushita launched from second on the grid and immediately challenged Prema driver Schumacher around the outside of Turn 1, but his attack was repelled.

Settling into second place, Matsushita was rarely more than a second behind the leader, only once falling outside of two seconds adrift after having to fend off DAMS’ Sergio Sette Camara.

He closing to within a half-second on the penultimate lap, but Schumacher had it under control for a lights-to-flag victory.

Camara finished third after slipped adrift of the lead battle following his mid-race attack on Matsushita. The Brazilian boldly dived to the inside of Matsushita at Turn 1 but ran wide on the exit, allowing the Carlin racer to retain second.

In the closing stages, Camara’s attention turned to MP Motorsport’s Jordan King behind. Campos Racing’s Jack Aitken secured fifth, having vaulted ahead of a slow-starting Luca Ghiotto.

The Virtousi driver slipped down to ninth, and spent several laps staring at Nikita Mazepin’s rear wing, as the ART Grand Prix driver climbed fourth places at the start. Mazepin eventually struggled with tyre degradation and Ghiotto squeezed him onto the grass en route to Turn 2 to seize eighth place and the final point.

Ghiotto finished behind both his title rivals, with championship leader Nyck de Vries extending his advantage to 30 points over Nicholas Latifi as the pair finished sixth and seventh. Latifi pressured de Vried throughout the race, albeit unable to make an overtake attempt.

Guanyu Zhou and Callum Ilott rounded out the top 10 for Virtuosi and Sauber Junior Team by Charouz respectively.

Arden’s Anthoine Hubert danced around the outside of Giuliano Alesi at Turn 2 in the closing stages to grab 11th place after the two had both demoted Mazepin at the previous corner. Mazepin slipped back to finish 15th. Hubert’s team-mate Tatiana Calderon was the only retirement in the race, after wheel-to-wheel contact with Arjun Maini caused her suspension damage.


Race results (28 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Mick Schumacher Prema 43m59.841s
2 Nobuharu Matsushita Carlin +1.453s
3 Sergio Sette Camara DAMS +3.396s
4 Jordan King MP Motorsport +4.177s
5 Jack Aitken Campos Racing +4.960s
6 Nyck de Vries ART Grand Prix +11.428s
7 Nicholas Latifi DAMS +12.314s
8 Luca Ghiotto Virtuosi Racing +12.930s
9 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi Racing +13.821s
10 Callum Ilott Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +23.877s
11 Anthoine Hubert Arden International +26.891s
12 Giuliano Alesi Trident +29.527s
13 Louis Deletraz Carlin +35.741s
14 Juan Manuel Correa Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +38.514s
15 Nikita Mazepin ART Grand Prix +39.932s
16 Arjun Maini Campos Racing +40.093s
17 Sean Gelael Prema +40.737s
18 Ralph Boschung Trident +42.857s
19 Mahaveer Raghunathan MP Motorsport +59.688s
Ret Tatiana Calderon Arden International
Fastest lap: Matsushita, 1m33.056s

Championship Standings
?de Vries 196? ?2?Latifi 166? ?3 Sette Camara 143? ?4?Aitken 134? ?5?Ghiotto 131? ?6?Zhou 107? ?7?Matsushita 89? ?8?Hubert 77? ?9?Deletraz 60? ?10?King 57