Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Masters China Nandy wins wet Macau FMCS race as KCMG pair dominate

Nandy wins wet Macau FMCS race as KCMG pair dominate

by Peter Allen
Akash Nandy

Photo: CGPM

Akash Nandy converted pole position into victory in the non-championship Formula Masters China Series race in Macau.

16-year-old Nandy and his KCMG team-mate Dan Wells dominated the wet race, finishing more than half a minute ahead of the rest after only seven racing laps.

The weather conditions meant the race began with three laps before the safety car. Nandy led Wells at the green flag, and used the clean air to open up a three second advantage at the end of the first racing lap.

Wells closed to within a second by the tenth and last lap but Nandy was able to hold on and win.

Hong Kong’s Shaun Thong held third place throughout. MRF Challenge racer Yudai Jinkawa pressured him until he retired on lap six, clearing the way for fellow Japanese driver Ren Nagabuchi to close on Thong before settling for fourth.

Tanart Sathienthirakul finished a couple of seconds behind Nagabuchi in fifth, with his Eurasia Motorsport team-mate Matthew Solomon in sixth.

Macau’s Andy Chang Wing Chung was seventh ahead of Pu Jun Jin, while 2013 series champion Aidan Wright finished ninth after starting 16th and last following a crash at the start of qualifying. Yuan Bo completed the top ten.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Akash Nandy Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG 10 laps in 30:42.146
2 Dan Wells Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG +0.942
3 Shaun Thong Eurasia Motorsport +33.251
4 Ren Nagabuchi Super License +34.567
5 Tanart Sathienthirakul Eurasia Motorsport +36.542
6 Matthew Solomon Eurasia Motorsport +48.704
7 Chang Wing Chung Eurasia Motorsport +1:07.481
8 Pu Jun Jin Eurasia Motorsport +1:16.796
9 Aidan Wright Meritus GP +1:50.138
10 Yuan Bo Star Racing Team +2:02.260
11 Bao Jin Long Star Racing +2:18.383
12 William Lok Super License +1 lap
13 Yang Fan Meritus GP +1 lap
14 Thomas Luedi Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG +1 lap
Not classified
Yin Hai Tao Super License 6 laps
Yudai Jinkawa Gold Wolf Racing 5 laps