Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Murray wins National FF1600 return, Dempsey gets title despite trouble

Murray wins National FF1600 return, Dempsey gets title despite trouble

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Niall Murray won a shortened opening BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 race at Donington Park, as early drama thwarted Jordan Dempsey but did not stop him from being crowned champion.

With his car repaired after a collision with Kevin Mills Racing team-mate Michael Eastwell in qualifying, Dempsey led away from pole at the start while Murray tried to challenge Ammonite Motorsport’s Colin Queen for second into Redgate.

Queen was able to keep the position, and then moved into the lead into Old Hairpin when Dempsey went off the road and suffered a bent track rod.

After returning to track Dempsey lost further ground running wide at Macleans and eventually limped home in 34th after making an early pitstop.

Series champion and returnee Murray took the lead away from Queen on lap two, and the pair then remained close together over the next couple of laps.

Queen’s team-mates Shawn Rashid and Andre Lafond then closed in on the lead battle after dispatching Oldfield Motorsport’s Lucas Romanek.

But the four-way fight for victory was halted with a third of the 15-minute encounter remaining due to the amount of gravel dragged onto the circuit at the chicane.

With Murray running as a guest entrant, Queen took maximum National points in second to keep his remote title hopes alive with two races to go, and Rashid completed the podium.

Romanek came home fifth, while B-M Racing’s Rory Smith finished sixth after an early battle with team-mate Jamie Sharp, who made an error at Coppice and slipped back to 11th.

Don Hardman’s Joey Foster was seventh ahead of Eastwell, Morgan Quinn and Tom Nippers.

Race result (6 laps) [Super Classic drivers in italics]
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Niall Murray Team Dolan 10m07.885s
2 Colin Queen Ammonite Motorsport +0.341s
3 Shawn Rashid Ammonite Motorsport +0.836s
4 Andre Lafond Ammonite Motorsport +1.363s
5 Lucas Romanek Oldfield Motorsport +2.638s
6 Rory Smith B-M Racing +4.802s
7 Joey Foster Don Hardman Racing +6.076s
8 Michael Eastwell Kevin Mills Racing +8.853s
9 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +9.136s
10 Tom Nippers +15.373s
11 Jamie Sharp B-M Racing +18.230s
12 David McArthur B-M Racing +18.630s
13 Callum Grant Nigel Grant Motorsport +18.835s
14 Gabe Tesch Team Dolan +21.085s
15 Brandon McCaughan Oldfield Motorsport +21.620s
16 Tom Hawkins Springbridge Motorsport +26.002s
17 Andrew Schofield +29.896s
18 John Murphy +31.246s
19 Vincent Jay TM Racing +31.994s
20 Brindley Kinch Ammonite Motorsport +35.562s
21 Garath Buckingham Souley Motorsport +37.367s
22 Nick Barnes +42.518s
23 Neil Hunt +49.525s
24 Paul Tucker Tucker Motorsport +50.886s
25 Richard Ketterman Black Dog Racing +56.465s
26 Jonathan Barnes Souley Motorsport +57.085s
27 Lorna Vickers Shaw Motorsport +57.163s
28 Paul Crosbie +1m06.172s
29 Seamus Wild +1m11.945s
30 Roger Arnold +1m19.286s
31 Phil Nelson +1m19.798s
32 Trevor Morgan DB Motorsport +1m25.988s
33 Tom McArthur B-M Racing +1 lap
34 Jordan Dempsey Kevin Mills Racing +2 laps
Ret Richard Freye DB Motorport
Fastest lap: Queen, 1m39.742s

Championship standings (after dropped scores)
Dempsey 443   2 Queen 377   3 Romanek 325   4 Sharp 295   5 Rashid 282   6 Quinn 276   7 McCaughan 257   8 Lafond 252   9 Cochran 186   10 Smith 133