Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Masters China Munro extends advantage with fourth consecutive win

Munro extends advantage with fourth consecutive win

by Aditya Banerjee
Photo: Formula Masters China

Photo: Formula Masters China

KCMG driver James Munro continued his unbeaten run of form and picked up his fourth win on the trot with yet another convincing victory from pole.

With the fastest lap times deciding the grid for race two, Munro was joined at the front row by Matthew Solomon, ahead of Dan Wells,?Aston Hare and Yin Hai Tao. At the start, Solomon got away slowly?and dropped to fourth, losing places to Wells and a fast-starting Yin who managed to pass Hare off the line.

Solomon was soon on Yin’s tail though, and passed the Chinese driver for third on lap three. Yin was forced to drive defensively for the rest of the race, trying to keep Hare behind, but the South African found a way through for fourth in the closing stages. Yin was forced to settle for fifth, with the top five drivers finishing in the exact same positions they did in the first race.

Matthew Swanepoel made some progress after starting eighth, finishing in sixth, with Senna Iriawan, Andersen Martono, Mandla Mdakane and Pu Jun Jin?making up the rest of the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 James Munro KCMG 7 laps in 13:00.904
2 Dan Wells KCMG +1.162
3 Matthew Solomon Eurasia Motorsport +4.748
4 Aston Hare Meritus GP +6.877
5 Yin Hai Tao Zen Motorsport +7.787
6 Matthew Swanepoel KCMG +12.455
7 Yasuo Senna Iriawan Humpuss Junior Racing Team +13.738
8 Andersen Martono Meritus GP +14.493
9 Mandla Mdakane Meritus GP +16.453
10 Pu Jun Jin Eurasia Motorsport +16.838
11 Sean Hudspeth Eurasia Motorsport +16.860
12 Yuan Bo Eurasia Motorsport +20.188
13 Darma Hutomo Humpuss Junior Racing Team +20.729
14 Ronald Wu Zen Motorsport +22.695
15 Bao Jin Long Zen Motorsport +23.561
16 Akhil Rabindra Meco Motorsports +51.433
17 Hua Miao Zen Motorsport +1 lap
Not classified
Zou Chen Yu Super License +7 laps