Home Formula 3Euroformula Motopark makes Euroformula Open switch, retains FEM line-up

Motopark makes Euroformula Open switch, retains FEM line-up

by Ida Wood


Two-time Macau Grand Prix winner and successful FIA European Formula 3 team Motopark will switch to Euroformula Open this season following European F3’s demise, retaining its original intended 2019 line-up.

The German team was set to race in European F3 successor Formula European Masters prior to the championship’s cancellation, and has been in discussions since with EF Open organiser GT Sport on an entry to the Spanish-based series.

Red Bull juniors Liam Lawson and Yuki Tsunoda were signed for the FEM season, alongside the returning Marino Sato. All three drivers will now race in EF Open, with a fourth potential entry for ex-Carlin driver Julian Hanses.

Both Lawson and Tsunoda will run their EF Open campaigns alongside attacks on the new FIA F3 Championship, which has two calendar clashes. It is expected that both drivers will prioritise FIA F3.

?I?m really happy we?re still getting to race in the older F3 cars as well, I can?t wait,? said reigning Toyota Racing Series champion Lawson.

?I haven?t tested the Motopark car yet but from the testing I did last year in these cars it?s going to be exciting to finally race in one.

“I?m really impressed with the work the team has done to get us ready even though we won?t get any seat time before the first round.?

Tsunoda graduates to F3 as the reigning Japanese Formula 4 champion, while Lawson has extensive F4 experience having finished second in both the Australian and German championships.

After two seasons in Italian F4, Sato has raced with Motopark in European F3 for the last two years, with a best finish of fourth.

Photo: Malcolm Griffiths / FIA F3 Championship