Home Formula RegionalFRegional Asian Championship Mini makes FRAC return, Belov best in final Dubai test

Mini makes FRAC return, Belov best in final Dubai test

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRAC

There are changes at several teams for this weekend’s Formula Regional Asian Championship round on Dubai Autodrome’s Grand Prix layout, with new and returning drivers.

Gabriele Mini is the highest profile of the unanticipated changes, as the Italian is back are competing in the opening two rounds for Hitech GP. He claimed a win and a pole in that time, and now returns for the final two rounds.

The Italian was replaced at Hitech by Owen Tangavelou, and will now be his team-mate along with 2021 FRegional European Championship rival Isack Hadjar. Mini will return to FREC this year with ART Grand Prix.

Frederick Lubin has departed Evans GP’s FRAC line-up after doing the first three rounds, while the scheduled rotations at Mumbai Falcons and 3Y Technology by R-ace GP have taken place.

Ferrari junior Ollie Bearman replaces Sebastian Montoya at Mumbai Falcons, while Lena Buhler takes over R-ace’s car previously driven by Hadrien David.

BlackArts Racing also has a revised line-up, with Ido Cohen finally getting driving time after his planned appearance in the season opener was prevented by testing positive for COVID-19. Pierre-Louis Chovet ended up in the Cohen car for rounds two and three, and will remain in that seat this weekend while Cohen drives a different chassis that French newspaper AUTOhebdo’s reporter says was set for French Formula 4 champion Esteban Masson before he too had a positive COVID-19 test.

On Friday there were two pre-event test sessions, with R-ace’s Lorenzo Fluxa pipping Evans GP’s Patrik Pasma to the top spot in the morning by 0.045 seconds. Mini was third fastest, 0.122s back.

Fluxa’s 1m55.176s lap stood as the fastest of the day until the final five minutes of the afternoon session, as Evans GP’s Michael Belov posted a 1m55.016s. He then improved to 1m54.922s to finish on top.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Michael Belov Evans GP 1m54.922s 42
2 Lorenzo Fluxa 3Y by R-ace GP 1m55.176s +0.254s 39
3 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m55.195s +0.273s 42
4 Patrik Pasma Evans GP 1m55.221s +0.299s 42
5 Dilano van’t Hoff Pinnacle Motorsport 1m55.222s +0.300s 42
6 Pepe Marti Pinnacle Motorsport 1m55.261s +0.339s 46
7 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP 1m55.298s +0.376s 46
8 Francesco Braschi 3Y by R-ace GP 1m55.362s +0.440s 41
9 Oliver Goethe 3Y by R-ace GP 1m55.519s +0.597s 41
10 Jak Crawford Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema 1m55.619s +0.697s 42
11 Arthur Leclerc Mumbai Falcons 1m55.659s +0.737s 43
12 Pierre-Louis Chovet BlackArts Racing 1m55.742s +0.820s 45
13 Nicola Marinangeli Evans GP 1m56.028s +1.106s 46
14 Paul Aron Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema 1m56.098s +1.176s 43
15 Ollie Bearman Mumbai Falcons 1m56.144s +1.222s 44
16 Dino Beganovic Mumbai Falcons 1m56.156s +1.234s 41
17 Owen Tangavelou Hitech GP 1m56.195s +1.273s 44
18 Ayato Iwasaki Pinnacle Motorsport 1m56.373s +1.451s 43
19 Ido Cohen BlackArts Racing 1m56.777s +1.855s 41
20 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema 1m56.935s +2.013s 45
21 Salih Yoluc Pinnacle Motorsport 1m57.032s +2.110s 39
22 Levente Revesz Evans GP Academy 1m57.082s +2.160s 36
23 Lena Buhler 3Y by R-ace GP 1m57.359s +2.437s 44
24 Amna Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema 1m57.799s +2.877s 44
25 David Morales Evans GP Academy 1m57.877s +2.955s 40
26 Khaled Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema 1m58.026s +3.104s 43
27 Thomas Luedi BlackArts Racing 1m58.465s +3.543s 35