Home News Camara tops pre-event test for penultimate F4 UAE round

Camara tops pre-event test for penultimate F4 UAE round

by Ida Wood

Photo: Champions of the Future

Rafael Camara edged Prema team-mate Charlie Wurz by 0.066 seconds to go fastest in pre-event testing for Formula 4 United Arab Emirates’ penultimate round on Dubai Autodrome’s Grand Prix layout.

This weekend will mark the first repeat use of a circuit in the five-round series, with the first three events taking place at Yas Marina Circuit and then on Dubai’s International and GP configurations.

The cooler temperatures of the morning lent themselves to faster laptimes during Friday’s test, and it was Prema’s drivers who led the way in the first session. Camara and Wurz were fastest, with Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema’s points leader Aiden Neate just 0.095s back in third place.

Hitech GP’s Alex Dunne, best of the rest, was a massive 0.486s behind and meant it was only the Prema trio who broke the 2m00s barrier. The returning James Wharton put the second of the Abu Dhabi Racing cars in sixth place, 0.646s slower than Camara, while his team-mate Conrad Laursen failed to get out on track to set a lap and didn’t run in the afternoon either.

Camara was at the top of the times for much of the afternoon session, until the final quarter of an hour when PHM Racing duo Taylor Barnard and Nikita Bedrin came to the fore.

Barnard was the first to set a sub-2m01s lap, and was swiftly usurped by Bedrin who posted a 2m00.898s. The Russian improved again on his next lap to a 2m00.796s, while Barnard managed to get a 2m00.894s in before pitting and settling for second place.

Camara’s earlier benchmark of 2m01.092s put him in third place in the session, ahead of Neate and Hitech’s Luke Browning and Dunne.

There was only one driver who improved on their morning best: Pinnacle Motorsport’s Jef Machiels. The Belgian karting graduate’s 2m03.241s lap lifted him from 30th to 29th place overall.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1 Rafael Camara Prema 1m59.706s 28
2 Charlie Wurz Prema +0.066s 28
3 Aiden Neate Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +0.095s 28
4 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +0.486s 24
5 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing +0.512s 28
6 James Wharton Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +0.646s 29
7 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +0.678s 33
8 Ivan Domingues Xcel Motorsport +0.751s 33
9 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing +0.760s 27
10 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport +0.793s 28
11 Christian Ho MP Motorsport +0.818s 32
12 Martinius Stenshorne 3Y by R-ace GP +0.909s 34
13 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +1.011s 30
14 Jamie Day Xcel Motorsport +1.106s 17
15 Luke Browning Hitech GP +1.176s 23
16 Brando Badoer AKM Motorsport +1.219s 34
17 Nikhil Bohra 3Y by R-ace GP +1.291s 33
18 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +1.337s 32
19 Ricardo Escotto Cram-Hitech GP +1.431s 31
20 Anshul Gandhi Cram-Hitech GP +1.572s 31
21 Robert De Haan Pinnacle Motorsport +1.606s 32
22 Vladislav Ryabov GRS +1.706s 29
23 Michael Shin JHR Developments +1.813s 34
24 Ruhaan Alva Mumba Falcons by Xcel +2.020s 35
25 Jonas Ried PHM Racing +2.139s 36
26 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi Xcel Motorsport +2.199s 28
27 Victoria Blokhina 3Y by R-ace GP +2.486s 35
28 Yash Aradhya Mumbai Falcons by Xcel +2.627s 16
29 Jef Machiels Pinnacle Motorsport +3.535s 26
30 Ismoilkhuja Akhmedkhodjaev Xcel Motorsport +3.790s 30
31 Conrad Laursen Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema no time 0