Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Middlehurst beats Esterson to National FF1600 win at Anglesey

Middlehurst beats Esterson to National FF1600 win at Anglesey

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: BRSCC

Chris Middlehurst held off Max Esterson to take his third BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 victory of the season in the opening race of the weekend at Anglesey.

Team Dolan’s Middlehurst took the lead away from poleman Esterson on the opening lap, and resisted race-long pressure from the Low Dempsey Racing driver to take the win by 0.156 seconds.

Esterson had to settle for second, having been unable to make a move stick around the outside of Middlehurst on several occasions, but extended his points lead over Kevin Mills Racing’s Alex Walker.

Walker ran on the tail of the battling duo throughout, but a 10s time penalty for jumping start dropped him to fifth after the chequered flag.

That handed Souley Motorsport’s Jack Wolfenden third place, having finished less than 2s behind the leaders. Wolfenden was also the leading finisher in the Northern FF1600 championship class.

B-M Racing’s Jamie Sharp rose from 10th on the grid to finish fifth on the road, which became fourth with Walker’s penalty. Oldfield Motorsport’s Carter Williams was involved in an early battle with Sharp, but eventually dropped down well down the order.

Lukas Romanek came under late pressure for sixth from KMR team-mate Megan Gilkes, who had battled her way past LDR’s Andre Lafond. But a time penalty at the finish dropped Gilkes to ninth. Callum Grant was promoted to eighth as a result, with Ben Cochran rounding out the top 10.

Race results (10 laps) [BRSCC Northern drivers in italics]

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Chris Middlehurst Team Dolan 15m53.829s
2 Max Esterson Low Dempsey Racing +0.156s
3 Jack Wolfenden unknown +1.995s
4 Jamie Sharp B-M Racing +5.584s
5 Alex Walker Kevin Mills Racing +11.068s
6 Lucas Romanek Kevin Mills Racing +11.441s
7 Andre Lafond Low Dempsey Racing +13.476s
8 Callum Grant Nigel Grant Motorsport +18.028s
9 Megan Gilkes Kevin Mills Racing +21.812s
10 Benjamin Cochran Team Dolan +25.689s
11 Colin Queen Low Dempsey Racing +32.930s
12 John Murphy unknown +36.884s
13 Garath Buckingham Souley Motorsport +37.731s
14 Neil McArthur B-M Racing +43.655s
15 Paul Mason Swift Cooper +44.199s
16 Jonathan Barnes unknown +45.746s
17 Nick Barnes Swift Cooper +57.656s
18 Juiceie Bruceie unknown +1m01.753s
19 Stuart Dix unknown +1m06.209s
20 Paul Barnes Souley Motorsport +1m07.863s
21 Richard Ketterman Black Dog Racing +1m09.179s
22 Paul Tucker Tucker Motorsport +1m15.297s
Ret Carter Williams Oldfield Motorsport
Ret Thomas Mills Kevin Mills Racing
Fastest lap: Esterson, 1m34.652s

Championship standings
1 Esterson 236   2 Walker 213   3 Middlehurst 192   4 Rory Smith 171   5 Sharp 144   6 Mills 112   7 Romanek 111   8 Williams 96   9 Joey Foster 94   10 Queen 76