Home Featured Mick Schumacher sets top time in Red Bull Ring European F3 test

Mick Schumacher sets top time in Red Bull Ring European F3 test

by Tim Lumb

Mick Schumacher

Prema’s Mick Schumacher set the fastest time of the two-day Formula 3 European Championship test at the Red Bull Ring, exactly a tenth of a second ahead of Ferdinand Habsburg.

The 1m22.828s lap time set by Schumacher during the morning of the second day of testing eclipsed the fastest time of Dan Ticktum (Motopark) on Monday, when Schumacher was only 0.001 seconds adrift.

After Carlin only had one driver in the top 10 times during the first day of testing at Spielberg, Habsburg set the second quickest time in the morning and was the fastest driver on track during the afternoon session.

Carlin occupied the top three times in the afternoon, with Sacha Fenestraz being only one of three drivers to set their fastest lap during the second session of the day. His lap was 0.15 seconds off his team-mates morning time but was good enough to put him third overall.

Team-mates Jehan Daruvala finished ninth, before coming third in the afternoon.

After Ticktum was quickest on day one, Sebastian Fernandez was the quickest Motopark driver during day two in fourth, with Hitech’s fastest driver of the day Enaam Ahmed 0.01 seconds behind in fifth.

Schumacher’s Prema team-mates Robert Shwartzman and Marcus Armstrong finished sixth and eighth overall, with Hitech’s Alex Palou sandwiched between the two.

Ticktum’s fastest lap of the day was only good enough for 10th overall?and was 0.212 seconds slower than his time on Monday.

The European F3 paddock didn’t put in as many laps during the second day of testing, with three drivers including Schumacher setting 10 laps or less in the afternoon session following snow over the lunch break.

Combined day two times
Pos Driver Team Morning Afternoon
1 Mick Schumacher Prema 1:22.828 1:27.933
2 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin 1:22.928 1:23.052
3 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin 1:23.491 1:23.078
4 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark 1:23.120 1:23.534
5 Enaam Ahmed Hitech 1:23.130 1:24.878
6 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1:23.173 1:23.518
7 Alex Palou Hitech 1:23.189 1:23.870
8 Marcus Armstrong Prema 1:23.201 1:23.605
9 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1:23.243 1:23.306
10 Daniel Ticktum Motopark 1:23.249 1:23.536
11 Guan Yu Zhou Prema 1:23.260 1:24.122
12 Juri Vips Motopark 1:23.296 1:23.496
13 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark 1:23.312 1:34.069
14 Ralf Aron Prema 1:23.313 1:24.285
15 Marino Sato Motopark 1:23.368 1:23.608
16 Devlin DeFrancesco Carlin 1:23.741 1:23.706
17 Fabio Scherer Motopark 1:23.711 1:23.948
18 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing 1:23.790 1:24.636
19 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin 1:23.811 1:24.110
20 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin 1:23.888 1:23.938
21 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing 1:23.913 1:23.933
22 Sophia Florsch Van Amersfoort Racing 1:24.217 1:24.543
23 Ben Hingeley Hitech 1:24.411 1:25.091
24 Julian Hanses Ma-con 1:25.701 1:24.715