Home Featured Mick Schumacher completes hat-trick of European F3 wins at Nurburgring

Mick Schumacher completes hat-trick of European F3 wins at Nurburgring

by Ida Wood

Mick Schumacher has completed a hat-trick of Formula 3 European Championship victories at the Nurburgring, becoming only the sixth driver in the modern era to win all three races in a weekend.

The Prema driver started the race from pole, defending the inside line staunchly from team-mate Robert Shwartzman, and then romped away to a 4.985-second victory.

He is the first driver to score a European F3 hat-trick since Lance Stroll at the end of 2016.

Shwartzman finished second to Schumacher for the third time in a row, and only looked a match to Schumacher when the leader was looking after his tyres. Shwartzman is now sixth in the standings, and is the latest driver to join the ever-changing title battle.

After being bettered by Hitech GP’s Alex Palou on the first lap, Motopark driver Dan Ticktum settled for fourth place, and saw his championship lead over Schumacher cut to three points.

Prema’s Marcus Armstrong finished fifth, in a Motopark sandwich between Ticktum and Juri Vips.

Sacha Fenestraz (Carlin), Ralf Aron (Prema), Enaam Ahmed (Hitech) and Guan Yu Zhou (Prema) rounded out the points.

The only noticeable incident of the race was when Van Amersfoort Racing’s Sophia Floersch hit Ameya Vaidyanathan, causing the Carlin driver to take to the pits. Floersch was handed a drive-through penalty for the incident.


Race results (24 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Mick Schumacher Prema 34m25.147s
2 Robert Shwartzman Prema +4.985s
3 Alex Palou Hitech GP +5.732s
4 Dan Ticktum Motopark +8.012s
5 Marcus Armstrong Prema +8.950s
6 Juri Vips Motopark +10.656s
7 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin +14.374s
8 Ralf Aron Prema +18.416s
9 Enaam Ahmed Hitech GP +20.764s
10 Guan Yu Zhou Prema +21.326s
11 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin +24.672s
12 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark +25.953s
13 Jehan Daruvala Carlin +27.682s
14 Fabio Scherer Motopark +31.707s
15 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing +32.514s
16 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark +35.371s
17 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing +36.569s
18 Marino Sato Motopark +43.664s
19 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin +45.100s
20 Ben Hingeley Hitech GP +45.661s
21 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing +55.348s
Ret Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin
Fastest lap: Palou, 1m22.292s

Championship Standings
1?Ticktum 264? ?2?Schumacher 261? ?3?Armstrong 220? ?4?Vips 218? ?5?Aron 207.5? ?6?Shwartzman 183? ?7?Ahmed 168? ?8?Zhou 165? ?9?Palou 157? ?10 Daruvala 117.5