Home News Michael Myers and Simon Sikes join USF2000 grid at Indianapolis

Michael Myers and Simon Sikes join USF2000 grid at Indianapolis

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Michael Myers and Simon Sikes will make their USF2000 debuts in this week’s round on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s road course.

Marotti Autosport’s Sikes is the current points leader in F1600 Championship Series, and is also a race-winner in the more powerful F2000 Championship Series. He will continue his F1600 campaign where it does not clash with USF2000.

“This is the biggest opportunity of my life,” said the 19-year-old. “I’m honoured to work with such a determined and inspired man such as Will [Marotti, team founder]. I have always wanted to race in USF2000, and now we have set our minds to figuring out how we can run the full season together next year.”

Myers tested with Legacy Autosport at Mid-Ohio earlier in the year, and the long-anticipated race debut for the 18-year-old will come with the team. The former off-road racer came second in the Lucas Oil Formula Car Race Series last year, and won the series’ winter title as well earning a spot as a finalist in the Team USA Scholarship.

“Being a new driver to the USF2000 series is a welcoming and empowering feeling,” said Myers. “Coming from off-road ATV racing, I have never experienced this level of teamwork and camaraderie before as that sport is very individualised between the rider and mechanic.

“Having Legacy Autosport to work with is an amazing experience and provides me the confidence that I will always have a solid team to trust and work with.

“The USF2000 cars are different from what I am used to driving, but I feel as if the previous steps I took in my transition to the road-side of motorsports have properly prepared me for the Road to Indy series.”

Both drivers raced virtual junior single-seaters in the Esports series that took place in the lockdown period. Myers claimed a podium in the Road to Indy eSeries, while Sikes won a race in the United States Formula 4 championship.