Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Michael Eastwell wins at wet Brands Hatch in National FF1600

Michael Eastwell wins at wet Brands Hatch in National FF1600

by Formula Scout

Michael Eastwell won the second BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 race of the weekend in the wet at Brands Hatch.

The Kevin Mills Racing driver got away off the line better than polesitter Luke Cooper, and took the lead going into Paddock Hill Bend.

Next time round though Cooper had regained the lead, which he held until lap five of 17 when a slide from the Swift Cooper driver allowed Eastwell to take the lead again.

From here Eastwell was able to hold onto the position to take the third win of his part-season in the championship.

Cooper had to hold off pressure from B-M Racing’s Rory Smith during the second half of the race, but secured second place and was just 0.423 seconds off Eastwell at the chequered flag.

The safety car was deployed with eight minutes left on the clock when newly crowned Clubman class champion John Svensson and Max Marzorati tangled and ended up in the gravel at the top of Paddock Hill Bend.

James Clarke was the first of the Cliff Dempsey Racing drivers in fourth place, crucial in the battle for third in the standings, with team-mates Spike Kohlbecker and Jonathan Browne finished sixth and 10th.

Kohlbecker had been involved a battle with Team Dolan’s Chris Middlehurst after the race restart, but contact between the two resulted in Middlehurst going off track at Druids and a late retirement from the race.

Joey Foster recovered from his race one disappointment to finish fifth despite running off the track when the rain restarted.

Kenny Cowie started at the back of the grid after a retirement in race one but recovered to finish seventh and take Clubman victory.


Race results (17 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Michael Eastwell Kevin Mills Racing 20m17.239s
2 Luke Cooper Swift Cooper +0.423s
3 Rory Smith B-M Racing +1.105s
4 James Clarke Cliff Dempsey Racing +1.900s
5 Joey Foster Don Hardman Racing +3.298s
6 Spike Kohlbecker Cliff Dempsey Racing +5.353s
7 Kenny Cowie Rotor Racing +9.446s
8 Jamie Sharp Team Dolan +10.110s
9 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +11.605s
10 Jonathan Browne Cliff Dempsey Racing +18.107s
11 Pascal Monbaron John’s Racing Team +18.626s
12 Adam Quartermaine Team Dolan +22.596s
13 Michael Macpherson Kevin Mills Racing +22.720s
14 Scott Huntley Kevin Mills Racing +36.532s
Ret Chris Middlehurst Team Dolan
Ret John Svensson John’s Racing Team
Ret Max Marzorati B-M Racing
Fastest lap: Kohlbecker, 58.952s

Championship standings
1 Ross Martin 537? ?2 Kohlbecker 507? ?3 Clarke 389? ?4 Smith 386? ?5 Browne 363? ?6 Neil Maclennan 343 ? 7 Sharp 258? ?8 Macpherson 226? ?9 Quinn 218? ?10 Eastwell 198