Home Formula 4British F4 Louis Foster wins again, British F4 title rivals collide at Silverstone

Louis Foster wins again, British F4 title rivals collide at Silverstone

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Louis Foster completed a trio of British Formula 4 victories at Silverstone for Double R Racing as title rivals Zane Maloney and Sebastian Alvarez crashed out.

Maloney and Alvarez had been battling for second position when the latter was forced wide onto the grass, which he bounced over before hitting the side of Carlin’s Maloney. Both drivers ended up in the gravel, prompting a safety car.

Foster, who had led unchallenged through the first lap of the race, got a good restart when the race resumed.

As Arden’s Bart Horsten and Richardson Racing’s Luke Browning then fought for second place, Foster pulled away for his sixth win of the season and to close in to within 30 points of the championship lead.

Horsten managed to keep Browning, who started at the back of the grid, behind to finish second.

Josh Skelton spent the opening half of the race defending from Browning, while Arden’s Tommy Foster and Abbie Munro ran close behind. Browning was able to find a way past, but Skelton stayed ahead of the Arden duo until the safety car period.

On the restart, Skelton was able to pull away from Foster, who was battling with championship newcomer Christopher Lulham, while Munro span in the wet conditions.

Fourth place for JHR Developments driver Skelton kept him in title contention, with Lulham, Tommy Foster and Lulham’s Fortec Motorsports team-mate Roberto Faria finishing behind him.


Race results (17 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Louis Foster Double R Racing 20m17.631s
2 Bart Horsten Arden +1.365s
3 Luke Browning Richardson Racing +3.054s
4 Josh Skelton JHR Developments +4.485s
5 Christopher Lulham Fortec Motorsports +5.934s
6 Tommy Foster Arden +6.602s
7 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +7.155s
8 Alex Connor Arden +7.522s
9 Reema Juffali Double R Racing +7.709s
10 Carter Williams JHR Developments +8.374s
11 Mariano Martinez Fortec Motorsports +13.068s
12 Abbie Munro Arden +24.264s
Ret Zane Maloney Carlin
Ret Sebastian Alvarez Double R Racing
Ret Alex Walker JHR Developments
Fastest lap: L Foster, 1m01.213s

Championship standings
1 Maloney 367? ?2 Alvarez 367? ?3 L Foster 337? ?4 Skelton 307.5? ?5 Horsten 240.5? ?6 Williams 218? ?7 Browning 217.5? ?8 T Foster 197? ?9 Connor 124? ?10 Joe Turney 111