Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Michael Eastwell takes second National FF1600 win at Silverstone

Michael Eastwell takes second National FF1600 win at Silverstone

by Ida Wood

Michael Eastwell fended off continuous pressure at Silverstone to take his second BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 win.

The Kevin Mills Racing driver made a poor start from pole and lost his lead to Cliff Dempsey Racing?s Jonathan Browne, but regained the place at Brooklands.

From thereon he had his mirrors full, with his KMR team-mate and Silverstone specialist Michael Moyers being the next to threaten his lead. He got it down to 0.126 seconds before being re-overtaken by Browne at mid-distance.

A bundle of fastest laps brought Team Dolan?s Ross Martin into play, and he then took second place and even attempted a move on Eastwell down the inside of Turn 1.

That only comprised him through the next corners though, allowing Moyers back through and leading to a five-way fight for third place. As they crossed the line for the 13th lap of 15, they were almost four-wide and it was CDR?s Spike Kohlbecker who came out on top.

Martin became sandwiched in fifth between Browne and James Clarke, the latter who was fending off Rory Smith ? from last on the grid for B-M Racing.

Eastwell and Moyers broke away in the final two laps, and Moyer?s last corner attempt to take the lead left him just 0.066s short of victory. Third for Kohlbecker moves him past the absent Neil Maclennan into the Triple Crown lead.

Championship returnee Joey Foster was involved in the lead battle early on, but the Don Hardman Racing driver then retired, while B-M?s Tom McArthur was not classified as he finished the race in the pits.


Race results (15 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Michael Eastwell Kevin Mills Racing 15m38.833s
2 Michael Moyers Kevin Mills Racing +0.066s
3 Spike Kohlbecker Cliff Dempsey Racing +0.387s
4 Jonathan Browne Cliff Dempsey Racing +0.547s
5 Ross Martin Team Dolan +0.633s
6 James Clarke Cliff Dempsey Racing +1.007s
7 Rory Smith B-M Racing +1.304s
8 Jamie Sharp Team Dolan +3.626s
9 Michael Macpherson Kevin Mills Racing +5.298s
10 Thomas Capezzone Swift Cooper +5.370s
11 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +9.295s
12 Henry Chart Oldfield Motorsport +9.703s
13 Kenny Cowie Rotor Racing +12.296s
14 Pascal Monbaron John’s Racing Team +12.474s
15 Nigel Dolan B-M Racing +12.969s
16 John Svensson John’s Racing Team +25.635s
17 Adam Quartermaine Team Dolan +29.025s
18 Samuel Street SamS Motorsport +33.592s
NC Tom McArthur B-M Racing +12.374s
Ret Joey Foster Don Hardman Racing
Pole: Eastwell, 1m01.317s? ? ? Fastest lap: Smith, 1m01.547s

Championship standings
1 Martin 478? ?2 Kohlbecker 440? ?3?Neil Maclennan 343? ?4 Browne 321? ?5 Clarke 317? ?6 Smith 286? ?7 Sharp 222? ?8 Macpherson 176? ?9 Quinn 173? ?10 Jamie Thorburn 155