Home Z - Archive seriesGerman F3 Menezes wins reverse-grid sprint at Hockenheim

Menezes wins reverse-grid sprint at Hockenheim

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: formel3.de

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Gustavo Menezes has taken his second win of the year in German F3 as he made the most of fourth on the grid.

The race got off to a bit of a messy start as poleman Roman Beregech stalled on the grid and was collected by Nabil Jeffri. With the duo retiring, the race went into a lengthy safety car period, the action resuming with less than ten minutes left on the clock.

With the American pulling away after the restart, the usual suspects from Motopark had to settle for the fight for second. While both Marvin Kirchhofer and Emil Bernstorff made their way through the field in a relatively fast way, Artem Markelov‘s strong start allowed him to have some breathing room ahead. As such, Markelov held on to second, ahead of Kirchhofer and Bernstorff.

John Bryant-Meisner was again close behind the Lotus trio, finishing fifth. Jordi Weckx took sixth, ahead of Matteo Cairoli and Nicolai Sylvest. The top ten was rounded out by Trophy class winner Thomas Amweg and Tomasz Krzeminski, who had to recover after retiring in race one.

Race results
Pos. Driver Cl. Team Time/Gap
1 Gustavo Menezes Van Amersfoort 9 laps in 18:18.036
2 Artem Markelov Lotus +3.033
3 Marvin Kirchhofer Lotus +3.613
4 Emil Bernstorff Lotus +4.250
5 John Bryant-Meisner Performance Racing +6.870
6 Jordi Weckx Van Amersfoort +12.465
7 Matteo Cairoli ADM Motorsport +13.008
8 Nicolai Sylvest JBR Motorsport +16.166
9 Thomas Amweg CR Racing Team +17.807
10 Tomasz Krzeminski Performance Racing +19.837
11 Hubertus-Carlos Vier Franz Woss Racing +24.079
12 Freddy Killensberger GU-Racing +25.130
13 Sheban Siddiqi Lotus +27.278
14 Sebastian Balthasar GU-Racing +27.605
15 Nikita Zlobin ADM Motorsport +33.104
16 Christian Zeller CR Racing Team +44.981
17 Andreas Germann CR Racing Team +46.094
18 Luca Iannaccone Franz Woss Racing +1:00.186
19 Frank Debruyne CR Racing Team +1:01.002
20 Maximilian Hackl Franz Woss Racing +3 laps
Not classified
Roman Beregech Performance Racing +9 laps
Nabil Jeffri EuroInternational +9 laps