Home Formula 4GB4 McCaughan leads KMR 1-2 in red-flagged second GB4 race

McCaughan leads KMR 1-2 in red-flagged second GB4 race

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

KMR Sport’s Brandon McCaughan converted pole into a maiden GB4 win at Oulton Park in a race shortened by a late crash for Finn Harrison.

McCaughan led away at the start as Elite Motorsport’s Alisha Palmowski stalled from the front row and slotted into eighth after moving away at the second attempt. 

Elite’s Harrison had a look up the inside of KMR’s Harry Burgoyne Jr for second into Old Hall bend but conceded, and McCaughan held a 0.8-second lead at the end of lap one.

The Formula Ford 1600 graduate extended that advantage to 2.3s over the next four laps, and on lap six Burgoyne got sideways and ran wide at Cascades which allowed Harrison to steal second.

But later in the lap Harrison slid off the road at Druids and crashed head on into the tyre barriers, appearing to be unhurt after walking away from his car. Officials brought out the red flags on lap eight, and McCaughan was declared the winner by 3.766s as the results were taken from the end of lap six.

Fox Motorport’s Branden Templeton took his first podium after climbing from eighth on the grid to fourth on the opening lap and then being promoted to third by Harrison’s incident.

Arden’s Leon Wilson was fifth, while Fortec Motorsports’ Linus Granfors withstood early pressure from Palmowski to finish ahead of the race one winner in sixth. Fortec’s Dan Hickey was further 10s adrift, with karting graduate Marcus Luzio gaining five places to eighth.

Fox’s Megan Bruce was ninth, while Graham Brunton Racing’s Callum Baxter dropped down the order early from fifth and came home 10th. KMR’s Chloe Grant slid off the road at Druids and finished 12th, one place behind Jack Taylor. GBR’s Mayer Deonarine retired after spinning to halt on the exit of Lodge.

Race result (6 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Brandon McCaughan KMR Sport 11m34.404s
2 Harry Burgoyne Jr KMR Sport +3.766s
3 Branden Templeton Fox Motorsport +8.262s
4 Leon Wilson Arden +10.216s
5 Linus Granfors Fortec Motorsports +16.970s
6 Alisha Palmowski Elite Motorsport +18.425s
7 Dan Hickey Fortec Motorsports +28.694s
8 Marcus Luzio +33.438s
9 Megan Bruce Fox Motorsport +34.788s
10 Callum Baxter Graham Brunton Racing +36.385s
11 Jack Taylor Fortec Motorsports +46.598s
12 Chloe Grant KMR Sport +53.291s
Ret Finn Harrison Elite Motorsport
Ret Mayer Deonarine Graham Brunton Racing
Fastest lap: Wilson, 1m53.513s

Championship standings
1 McCaughan 59   2 Burgoyne 58   3 Palmowski 52   4 Templeton 43   5 Wilson 38   6 Granfors 34   7 Baxter 32   8 Hickey 23   9 Grant 22   10 Luzio 22