Home Formula 3GB3 Macintyre wins GB3’s reversed-grid race after late drama for Rogeon

Macintyre wins GB3’s reversed-grid race after late drama for Rogeon

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

William Macintyre took a maiden GB3 win after Arthur Rogeon slowed from the lead on the final lap of a wet third race at Oulton Park.

JHR Developments’ Patrick Heuzenroeder lined up on reversed-grid pole ahead of Chris Dittmann’s Seb Murray, while Fortec Motorsports’ Colin Queen was demoted three places on the grid for an incident in race two, having been initially due to start from third.

Rodin Motorsport’s Rogeon made a lightning getaway from fourth to lead into Old Hall, and pulled out a two-second lead over Heuzenroeder on lap one. He extended his advantage by a further three seconds in as many laps, while Hitech GP driver Macintyre snatched third from Elite Motorsport’s Jarrod Waberski into Hislops.

On lap five Heuzenroeder slowed with an issue and pulled off the circuit, with Macintyre moving into second and setting the fastest lap, and the safety car was then deployed.

Hillspeed’s Aditya Kulkarni collided with another car during the caution period and retired in the gravel trap with front-right damage, causing a delay to the resumption of the race.

The safety car pulled in with just under five minutes of the allotted time left on the clock, enough for three more laps.

Rogeon continued to lead at the restart from Macintyre and Waberski, while Ugochukwu faced pressure for fourth from Kucharczyk. 

Having pulled out a 1.4s advantage, Rogeon dramatically slowed with a gearbox problem on the final lap, and Macintyre sailed through to win by 4.082s from Waberski while Ugochukwu took his second podium of the weekend in third.

Rogeon limped home in sixth, one place behind team-mate Louis Sharp who ended the weekend with the points lead after climbing from 12th on the grid to fifth.

Having lost out to Sharp early on, Murray finished seventh ahead of Elite’s McKenzy Cresswell. Queen came home ninth ahead of Hitech’s Gerrard Xie, while race two winner John Bennett made a slow start from 11th on the grid and finished 14th for JHR.

Race results (12 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Will Macintyre Hitech GP 25m55.845s
2 Jarrod Waberski Elite Motorsport +4.082s
3 Ugo Ugochukwu Rodin Motorport +4.899s
4 Tymek Kucharczyk Hitech GP +6.516s
5 Louis Sharp Rodin Motorsport +7.059s
6 Arthur Rogeon Rodin Motorsport +7.504s
7 Seb Murray Chris Dittmann Racing +11.004s
8 McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport +12.980s
9 Colin Queen Fortec Motorsports +13.898s
10 Gerrard Xie Hitech GP +16.035s
11 Noah Ping VRD by Arden +17.417s
12 Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports +17.720s
13 Hugo Schwarze Elite Motorsport +20.861s
14 John Bennett JHR Developments +21.704s
15 James Hedley VRD by Arden +22.465s
16 Flynn Jackes Chris Dittmann Racing +23.259s
17 Rishab Jain Chris Dittmann Racing +32.045s
18 Josh Irfan JHR Developments +33.623s
Ret Shawn Rashid VRD by Arden
Ret Aditya Kulkarni Hillspeed
Ret Patrick Heuzenroeder JHR Developments
Fastest lap: Macintyre, 1m44.352s

Championship standings
1 Sharp 82   2 Ugochukwu 67   3 Bennett 66   4 Macintyre 53   5 Cresswell 51   6 Xie 46   7 Waberski 44   8 Kucharczyk 39   9 Rogeon 36   10 Murray 23