Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Maximilian Gunther scores first ADAC Formel Masters victory at Lausitz

Maximilian Gunther scores first ADAC Formel Masters victory at Lausitz

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: ADAC Formel Masters

ADAC Formel Masters rookie Maximilian Gunther finally converted a pole position start into a maiden victory in race one at Lausitzring.

Gunther, who picked up his fifth and sixth pole position starts respectively in yesterday’s qualifying, made a stellar launch off the grid, but once again found himself under pressure from championship leader Alessio Picariello – the man who won the previous four races that the German started on pole.

The outcome could’ve very well been the same today, as Picariello was all over the back of Gunther’s vehicle for several early laps, at some point even going side-by-side with his teammate into turn one. However, Gunther maintained the inside line, keeping the lead and establishing a bit of a safety gap to Picariello, which eventually grew to 2.2s at the checkered flag.

With the first two positions decided early on, there was a rather heated fight for third, after Jason Kremer and Hendrik Grapp caught up with Neuhauser’s Marvin Dienst, who was struggling with car issues. Grapp overtook Dienst to seemingly seal a Mucke 1-2-3, but then found himself turned around on the final lap, leading to an eventual finish in 10th place. As such, Kremer picked up third, while Dienst tumbled down to fifth place, finishing behind his teammate Nicolas Beer.

Lotus driver Beitske Visser secured sixth in the later stages of the race with an exquisite pass on Ralph Boschung into turn one. Boschung wound up seventh, with Fabian Schiller and Stefan Riener picking up eighth and ninth respectively.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Maximilian Gunther ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. 18 laps in 25:28.92
2 Alessio Picariello ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +2.271
3 Jason Kremer Schiller Motorsport +12.455
4 Nicolas Beer Neuhauser Racing +14.685
5 Marvin Dienst Neuhauser Racing +15.501
6 Beitske Visser Lotus +16.685
7 Ralph Boschung Team KUG Motorsport +17.039
8 Fabian Schiller Schiller Motorsport +19.156
9 Stefan Riener Neuhauser Racing +19.489
10 Hendrik Grapp ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +21.700
11 Indy Dontje Lotus +25.333
12 Benedikt Gentgen JBR Motorsport & Engineering +26.742
13 Callan O’Keeffe Lotus +27.111
14 Kim Giersiepen KSW Motorsport +35.985
15 Kim-Luis Schramm ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +41.063
16 Stephane Kox Team KUG Motorsport +45.910
17 Marcel Lenerz JBR Motorsport & Engineering +48.903
18 Giorgio Maggi ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +49.451
Not classified
19 Martin Gatz KSW Motorsport +6 laps
20 Hannes Utsch JBR Motorsport & Engineering +9 laps
21 Mikkel Jensen Lotus +12 laps