Home Featured Max Fewtrell wins second Eurocup race at Paul Ricard

Max Fewtrell wins second Eurocup race at Paul Ricard

by Tim Lumb


R-ace GP’s Max Fewtrell claimed victory in the second Formula Renault Eurocup race at Circuit Paul Ricard after starting from pole position.

Fewtrell, who missed out on winning the season opener to team-mate Logan Sargeant after a bad start, was able to hold off Josef Kaufmann Racing’s Yifei Ye throughout the race.

Nearly half of the race was run behind the safety car, which was brought out on lap 4 of 14 when Clement Novalak and Najiy Razak collided into a gravel trap.

Sargeant was running in third when the race was neutralised but had to pull off the track and retire before the race got back underway.

Christian Lundgaard inherited the position and held on to take the final podium spot for MP Motorsport on his debut weekend in Formula Renault, after passing fellow rookie Victor Martins on lap one.

Arden’s Oscar Piastri was in fifth at the restart, but a mistake led him to go wide and drop places to Richard Verschoor and Alexander Smolyar, although the latter would fail to make the chequered flag.

Thomas Maxwell held on to eighth place at the end, with 0.671s separating the JD Motorsport driver from Alex Peroni in ninth.

Further back, Neil Verhagen finished in ninth for Tech 1 Racing, with the top 10 rounded off by MP Motorsport’s Max Defourny, who was able to hold off Arden’s Alexander Vartanyan at the end of the race.


Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Max Fewtrell R-ace GP 14 laps
2 Yifei Ye Josef Kaufmann Racing +0.596s
3 Christian Lundgaard MP Motorsport +2.759s
4 Victor Martins R-ace GP +3.552s
5 Richard Verschoor Josef Kaufmann Racing +4.352s
6 Oscar Piastri Arden +6.714s
7 Thomas Maxwell JD Motorsport +8.238s
8 Alex Peroni MP Motorsport +8.909s
9 Neil Verhagen Tech 1 Racing +12.644s
10 Max Defourny MP Motorsport +13.568s
11 Alexander Vartanyan Arden +14.078s
12 Charles Milesi R-ace GP +15.085s
13 Sami Taoufik Arden +15.418s
14 Christian Munoz AVF by Adrian Valles +16.072s
15 Arthur Rougier Fortec Motorsports +16.338s
16 Axel Matus AVF by Adrian Valles +16.934s
17 Thomas Neubauer Tech 1 Racing +17.566s
18 Eliseo Martinez AVF by Adrian Valles +18.055s
19 Frank Bird Tech 1 Racing +20.870s
20 Vladimir Tziortzis Fortec Motorsport +21.126s
21 Lorenzo Colombo JD Motorsport +1m46.641s
22 Raul Guzman Fortec Motorsport +1L
23 Alexander Smolyar Tech 1 Racing +2L
24 Logan Sargeant R-ace GP +6L
25 Najiy Razak JD Motorsport +10L
26 Clement Novalak Josef Kaufmann Racing +10L
27 Xavier Lloveras AVF by Adrian Valles +13L