Home Formula FordFFord Festival Max Esterson edges Ollie White in close third Festival heat

Max Esterson edges Ollie White in close third Festival heat

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Ida Wood

Max Esterson took victory in the third heat at the Formula Ford Festival after a race-long battle with Ollie White.

The Team USA scholar led away from pole for Low Dempsey Racing, as Souley Motorsport’s White slotted into second ahead of fellow Walter Hayes Trophy winner Michael Moyers.

Jordan Dempsey took fourth on the opening lap from David McCullough before challenging Kevin Mills Racing’s Moyers for third.

As the pair battled into Druids, Dempsey touched the back of Moyer’s Spectrum and ran wide, dropping to sixth.

The front two pulled clear, with White pressuring Esterson throughout, but the former missed out on the win by 0.179 seconds despite drawing alongside at the chequered flag.

Moyers came home third, while Dempsey recovered to finish fourth after making late overtakes on Team Dolan’s Morgan Quinn and Team DDR’s McCullough, who were fifth and sixth.

Oldfield Motorsport’s Lucas Romanek beat Don Hardman Racing’s Samuel Harrison to seventh after finding a way by early on.

Abdul Ahmed came out on top in a battle with Dolan’s Ben Cochran to finish ninth for Don Hardman.

Privateer Ryan Campbell was 11th in a Reynard FF89, while the BRSCC’s own Peter Daly took the final automatic spot for the semi-finals in 12th after holding off Jack Kemp’s Ray by just 0.045s

Race results (12 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Max Esterson Low Dempsey Racing 10m31.628s
2 Ollie White Souley Motorsport +0.179s
3 Michael Moyers Kevin Mills Racing +2.757s
4 Jordan Dempsey Motorsport Car Preparations +2.920s
5 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +3.418s
6 David McCullough Team DDR +5.677s
7 Lucas Romanek Oldfield Motorsport +5.823s
8 Sam Harrison Don Hardman Racing +7.376s
9 Abdul Ahmed Don Hardman Racing +9.807s
10 Ben Cochran Team Dolan +10.060s
11 Ryan Campbell +13.392s
12 Peter Daly Shaws Motorsport +28.587s
13 Jack Kemp +28.632s
14 Peter Barrable Wayne Poole Racing +29.308s
15 James Hagan +29.451s
16 Robbie Parks Vertical Racing +38.117s
17 Chris Knox Enigma Motorsport +44.341s
18 Scott Rawlinson DB Motorsport +52.803s
19 Matt Hayes +1 lap
20 Oliver Chapman OCI +1 lap
21 Chris Sharples PA Motorsport +1 lap
22 Kevin Donnelly Oldfield Motorsport +2 laps
Ret Jason Down Getem Racing
Ret Adam Higgins
Fastest lap: White, 51.234s