Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Matthew Graham back with AVF for Eurocup opener in Aragon

Matthew Graham back with AVF for Eurocup opener in Aragon

by Peter Allen
Matthew Graham

Photo: Matthew Graham

British racer Matthew Graham has secured a place on the grid for this weekend’s opening round of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 season at Aragon with AVF.

Graham raced for the Spanish squad last year, finishing 12th in the NEC and also contesting the Eurocup rounds at Aragon and Spa.

?I?m really excited to be racing this weekend,” said Graham.

“It has been a long winter and for a large part of it, I really wasn?t sure I would be racing at all this year so I?m thrilled that AV have made this opportunity possible.

?We are going back to a track where I had a good run out there last year, finishing inside the points and I am hoping to have an even better run out this time.

?To do that, I am going to have to drive well and have a strong qualifying as the standard of driving in the championship is really high. It?s one of the top junior single seater championships but I am hopeful of doing well so people can see what pace and potential I have.?

Graham was the BRDC F4 Winter Series champion at the end of 2013, after finishing fourth in the main series as a single-seater rookie. He was CIK-FIA Under 18 world champion in karting in 2011.

Graham is believed to have replaced Spaniard Inigo Bikuna in Adrian Valles’ Eurocup line-up for Aragon, and joins fellow Briton Harrison Scott at the team.

Final entries for Aragon shape up

Elsewhere, Valentin Hasse-Clot has been named as the driver for Strakka’s second entry for the Eurocup alongside Charlie Eastwood. The French F4 graduate was a podium finisher in the NEC opener at Monza earlier this month.

Italian Ignazio D’Agosto continues with Manor MP Motorsport alongside Dennis Olsen and Marco Sorensen having raced for the team at Monza and finished second in the opening race.

Single-seater rookie Amaury Bonduel has been brought into JD Motorsport’s three-car line-up to replace Mathias Kristensen, who left the team prior to the season. Bonduel was second in the French junior karting championship in 2013 and tested in GP3 in Abu Dhabi at the end of last year.

Three wildcard entrants are expected for Aragon: Alps drivers Bruno Baptista (Koiranen) and Zachary Claman DeMelo (Fortec) and AVF NEC racer Henrique Chaves.

2015 Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 line-up so far
Team Drivers
Koiranen GP Jake Hughes, Anton De Pasquale, Jack Aitken
Fortec Motorsports Ben Barnicoat, Luke Chudleigh, Martin Kodric, Callan O?Keeffe
ART Junior Team Ukyo Sasahara, Darius Oskoui
Josef Kaufmann Racing Louis Deletraz, Kevin Jorg
Manor MP Motorsport Dennis Olsen, Lasse Sorensen, Ignazio D?Agosto
Tech 1 Racing Simon Gachet, Hugo de Sadeleer, Anthoine Hubert
ARTA Engineering James Allen, Amaury Richard
AVF Harrison Scott, Matthew Graham
Strakka Racing Charlie Eastwood, Valentin Hasse-Clot
JD Motorsport Matevos Isaakyan, Thiago Vivacqua, Amaury Bonduel
Wildcard entrants for Aragon
Bruno Baptista (Koiranen), Zachary Claman DeMelo (Fortec), Henrique Chaves (AVF)