Home Z - Archive seriesGerman F3 Marvin Kirchhofer secures Lausitzring double pole

Marvin Kirchhofer secures Lausitzring double pole

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: formel3.de

Championship leader Marvin Kirchhofer produced another stellar qualifying performance in the 30-minute session at Lausitzring, securing double pole position for the German F3 round.

It was a hotly-contested qualifying, with the top spot constantly changing hands between Kirchhofer and teammate Emil Bernstorff. However, the German prevailed when it counted the most, putting in two laps good enough for pole position in the final minutes of the session.

As Bernstorff settled for second, Artem Markelov completed the usual Lotus 1-2-3. He wasn’t on-pace with the leading duo for most of the session, even trailing Performance Racing’s John Bryant-Meisner, but overcame the challenge from the Swede in the closing stages. With Bryant-Meisner in fourth, Gustavo Menezes completed the top five.

Tomasz Kreminski marked his return to the series with P6, with debutant Nicolai Sylvest picking up seventh place. Trophy class leader Sebastian Balthasar took eighth, with Nikita Zlobin and Freddy Killensberger rounding out the top ten.

The grid based on second-based times is identical to the results of the qualifying session.

Qualifying results
Pos. Driver Cl. Team Time Gap Laps
1 Marvin Kirchhofer C Lotus 1:15.427 16
2 Emil Bernstorff C Lotus 1:15.621 +0.194 17
3 Artem Markelov C Lotus 1:15.727 +0.300 17
4 John Bryant-Meisner C Performance Racing 1:15.802 +0.375 14
5 Gustavo Menezes C Van Amersfoort 1:16.305 +0.878 16
6 Tomasz Krzeminski C Performance Racing 1:17.176 +1.749 13
7 Nicolai Sylvest C JBR Motorsport 1:17.691 +2.264 19
8 Sebastian Balthasar T GU-Racing 1:18.136 +2.709 6
9 Nikita Zlobin C ADM Motorsport 1:18.552 +3.125 15
10 Freddy Killensberger T GU-Racing 1:18.865 +3.438 13
11 Christopher Hoher T Franz Woss Racing 1:19.039 +3.612 12
12 Maximilian Hackl T Franz Woss Racing 1:19.781 +4.354 17
13 Sheban Siddiqi C Lotus 1:21.231 +5.804 9
14 Stefan Neuburger T Franz Woss Racing 1:21.940 +6.513 7
Andreas Germann T CR Racing Team 1:24.451 +9.024 15
Frank Debruyne T CR Racing Team 1:24.848 +9.421 3
Matteo Cairoli C ADM Motorsport 1:29.579 +14.152 2
Nabil Jeffri C EuroInternational 1:35.622 +20.195 2