Home Featured Martins takes first FIA F3 win as Hauger and Doohan hit drama

Martins takes first FIA F3 win as Hauger and Doohan hit drama

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Victor Martins took his first FIA Formula 3 Championship victory as rivals Dennis Hauger and Jack Doohan fell out of the points in incidents late in race two at Zandvoort.

Hauger looked set to extend his championship lead while running fourth when the safety car came out late in the race.

Racing resumed for a two lap dash to the flag and Hauger tried to take advantage of a lock-up for Frederik Vesti ahead.

Ido Cohen, who had started on reversed grid pole, was trying to make his own way back towards the front and his front wing clipped Hauger’s rear-right tyre, causing a puncture.

Hauger fell a lap down and it seemed like his points lead would be cut by Doohan, who was running sixth at this point. But a wide moment for Doohan on the final lap dropped him to 19th.

Meanwhile, third and fourth in the standings finished third and first on the road.

Martins and Vesti spent much of the race battling for position. The two were running third and fourth after an early safety car, brought out after an incident for Lorenzo Columbo. Vesti tried to make a move on Cohen ahead when the race restarted, but fell under attack himself and Martins managed to find a way through to third.

Cohen continued to put up a strong defence against the faster drivers but before long Martins had managed to open the door and Cohen slipped down the order.

Martins made quick work of Clement Novalak, who had taken the lead off the line, and was in first place when the safety car was brought out after Amaury Cordeel span into the gravel.

On the restart, Novalak couldn’t challenge Martins back for the lead and the latter took his maiden win. Novalak was second ahead of Vesti.

Caio Collet had been challenging Hauger early on and came through to finish fourth, ahead of David Schumacher and Jak Crawford. Matteo Nannini and Logan Sargeant completed the top 10.

Race results (24 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 38m43.058s
2 Clement Novalak Trident +0.396s
3 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix +2.025s
4 Caio Collet MP Motorsport +2.408s
5 David Schumacher Trident +3.897s
6 Olli Caldwell Prema +5.102s
7 Arthur Leclerc Prema +5.537s
8 Jak Crawford Hitech GP +6.765s
9 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab +7.223s
10 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System +7.790s
11 Kaylen Frederick Carlin +8.353s
12 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport +10.117s
13 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab +10.184s
14 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab +10.936s
15 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix +10.992s
16 Roman Stanek Hitech GP +11.672s
17 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing +12.071s
18 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix +12.491s
19 Jack Doohan Trident +13.146s
20 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer Motorsport +13.312s
21 Zdenek Chovanec Charouz Racing System +13.622s
22 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport +13.977s
23 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport +14.041s
24 Hunter Yeany Charouz Racing System +14.885s
25 Jonny Edgar Carlin +22.135s
26 Ido Cohen Carlin +1 lap
27 Dennis Hauger Prema +1 lap
Ret Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing
Ret Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP
Ret Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing
Fastest lap: Martins, 1m26.857s

Championship standings
Hauger 166   2 Doohan 138   3 Martins 116   4 Vesti 113   5 Novalak 104   6 Caldwell 93   7 Smolyar 92   8 Collet 77   9 Sargeant 67   10 Schumacher 66