Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Martins quickest in Eurocup’s Thursday morning free practice at Spa

Martins quickest in Eurocup’s Thursday morning free practice at Spa

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Renault Sport Series

Victor Martins dominated a wet free Formula Renault Eurocup practice session on Thursday at Spa-Francorchamps.

The ART Grand Prix driver topped the times early in the session and continued to improve to stay out of reach of the rest of the field.

Martins ended practice more than a second quicker than the next best driver, lapping at 2m34.482s.

His team-mate Paul Aron and Arden’s Alex Quinn spent the session trading second place. Aron was in position in the closing stages, and despite Quinn improving on his final lap he couldn’t match the Mercedes-AMG Formula 1 junior.

MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto then JD Motorsport’s David Vidales both bettered Quinn’s fastest lap as they took the chequered flag, bumping Quinn down to fifth place.

Arden’s Ugo de Wilde and ART’s Gregorie Saucy took sixth and seventh ahead of Martins’ main title rival Caio Collet.

Renault junior Collet was one of a number of drivers to have lap times deleted as he exceeded track limits. The R-ace GP driver had two of his flying laps cancelled but improved on his last lap to put himself in eighth.

FA Racing’s Amaury Cordeel and Collet’s team-mate Petr Ptacek completed the top 10.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 2m34.482s 16
2 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix 2m35.585s +1.103s 13
3 David Vidales JD Motorsport 2m35.653s +1.171s 16
4 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 2m35.757s +1.275s 15
5 Alex Quinn Arden 2m36.159s +1.677s 17
6 Ugo de Wilde Arden 2m36.290s +1.808s 17
7 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 2m36.710s +2.228s 17
8 Caio Collet R-ace GP 2m36.711s +2.229s 13
9 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor 2m37.234s +2.752s 12
10 Petr Ptacek R-ace GP 2m37.280s +2.798s 13
11 William Alatalo JD Motorsport 2m37.350s +2.868s 14
12 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor 2m37.426s +2.944s 15
13 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 2m37.426s +2.944s 14
14 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 2m37.480s +2.998s 16
15 Reshad de Gerus Arden 2m37.807s +3.325s 16
16 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech 2m39.662s +5.180s 17
17 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech 2m41.986s +7.504s 15