Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Martins leads rival Collet in Eurocup free practice at Barcelona

Martins leads rival Collet in Eurocup free practice at Barcelona

by Ida Wood

Photo: Renault Sport Series

Victor Martins set the pace in Formula Renault Eurocup’s two free practice sessions at Barcelona, where he has been poleman for the last three series races at the circuit.

The Frenchman took pole for the 2018 season finale at the circuit, then dominated the Barcelona round last year. On Thursday he topped the pre-event test, and brought the fastest lap down by 0.627 seconds on Friday with a 1m42.235s lap.

Every driver set their best free practice in the morning session, with ART Grand Prix driver and points leader Martins leading main title rival Caio Collet (R-ace GP) by 0.353s.

A tenth of a second then covered third to sixth, with Martins’ team-mate Gregoire Saucy ahead of FA Racing by Manor’s Tijmen van der Helm, JD Motorsport’s David Vidales and Arden’s Ugo de Wilde.

Vidales emerged as Martins’ closest threat in FP2, but without improving on his morning time he still ended up fifth in the combined classification of the day.

The top 14 cars were covered by a second, with that group including MP Motorsport’s debutant and Spanish Formula 4 leader Kas Haverkort.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m42.235s 39
2 Caio Collet R-ace GP 1m42.588s +0.353s 39
3 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m42.637s +0.402s 41
4 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor 1m42.692s +0.457s 41
5 David Vidales JD Motorsport 1m42.714s +0.479s 42
6 Ugo de Wilde Arden 1m42.719s +0.484s 44
7 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m42.757s +0.522s 43
8 Alex Quinn Arden 1m42.770s +0.535s 37
9 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor 1m42.787s +0.552s 43
10 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix 1m42.909s +0.674s 41
11 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech 1m42.934s +0.699s 36
12 William Alatalo JD Motorsport 1m42.956s +0.721s 42
13 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 1m43.004s +0.769s 44
14 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m43.211s +0.976s 44
15 Reshad de Gerus Arden 1m43.690s +1.455s 40
16 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech 1m43.898s +1.663s 33
17 Petr Ptacek R-ace GP 1m44.118s +1.883s 40
18 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech 1m44.624s +2.389s 42