Home Featured Marti to the fore for Campos on second afternoon of F3 test

Marti to the fore for Campos on second afternoon of F3 test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Campos Racing’s Pepe Marti topped the charts in a slower afternoon session on the second day of the FIA Formula 3 post-season test at Jerez, which was red-flagged four times.

Christian Mansell, who took part in day one and two of testing with Campos, set the first reference as most drivers focused on long-run pace.

The first red flag was out 24 minutes into the session, as Jenzer Motorsport’s Taylor Barnard spun into the gravel at turn eight, and it was another Campos driver who took over at the top once track action resumed as Hugh Barter went fastest with a 1m32.226s lap.

Mansell reclaimed first place at the end of hour one of the three-hour session, setting a 1m31.952s as Marti rose into second place with a 1m32.025s lap.

Hitech GP’s Gabriele Mini then caused the next red flag stoppage by crashing at turn 10, and there was another 40 minutes before more change at the top as Marti moved ahead by posting a 1m31.807s lap. Prema’s Paul Aron rose to third place at the same time, but it was only the Campos drivers able to lap sub-1m32s.

Trident’s Gabriel Bortoleto, who had set the pace in the morning, caused the next red flag stoppage by repeating Mini’s mistake but he did usurp Marti at the top.

His 1m31.747s effort was bettered by just 0.011 seconds by Mini, then with 20 minutes to go Barnard had another off and brought red flags out again.

Drivers switched their focus to low-fuel runs in the 15 minutes left when the session restarted, and O’Sullivan, Mini and then Marti lowered the pace. Marti’s ended up as the quickest, by 0.118s over Mini, and Prema duo Aron and Dino Beganovic rose into third and fourth place at the end too.

Afternoon session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m31.324s 22
2 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP 1m31.442s +0.118s 24
3 Paul Aron Prema 1m31.460s +0.136s 42
4 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m31.472s +0.148s 42
5 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m31.482s +0.158s 38
6 Zak O’Sullivan Prema 1m31.511s +0.187s 43
7 Oliver Goethe Trident 1m31.548s +0.224s 42
8 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP 1m31.641s +0.317s 36
9 Kaylen Frederick ART Grand Prix 1m31.739s +0.415s 44
10 Gabriel Bortoleto Trident 1m31.747s +0.423s 32
11 Sebastian Montoya Hitech GP 1m31.828s +0.504s 38
12 Hadrien David Carlin 1m31.856s +0.532s 42
13 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m31.868s +0.544s 50
14 Joel Granfors Carlin 1m31.921s +0.597s 42
15 Christian Mansell Campos Racing 1m31.952s +0.628s 41
16 Max Esterson Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.976s +0.652s 45
17 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.064s +0.740s 46
18 Hugh Barter Campos Racing 1m32.226s +0.902s 52
19 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m32.309s +0.985s 42
20 Matias Zagazeta Charouz Racing System 1m32.410s +1.086s 44
21 Roberto Faria ART Grand Prix 1m32.519s +1.195s 33
22 Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.526s +1.202s 32
23 Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.640s +1.316s 18
24 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.756s +1.432s 40
25 Alessandro Famularo Charouz Racing System 1m32.900s +1.576s 44
26 Arias Deukmedjian Carlin 1m33.292s +1.968s 40
27 Nicola Marinangeli Charouz Racing System 1m33.329s +2.005s 55
28 Alex Garcia Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.493s +2.169s 36
29 Mari Boya MP Motorsport 1m33.744s +2.420s 50
30 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport 1m33.817s +2.493s 54