Home Featured Marcus Armstrong tops first day of final FIA F3 pre-season test at Hungaroring

Marcus Armstrong tops first day of final FIA F3 pre-season test at Hungaroring

by Peter Allen
Marcus Armstrong

Photo: Joe Portlock / FIA F3 Championship

Marcus Armstrong moved back to the top of the FIA Formula 3 timesheets on the first day of the final pre-season test at the Hungaroring, outpacing Leonardo Pulcini.

Hitech driver Pulcini, who was fastest on both days at Barcelona last week, led the way once more in the morning session with a time of 1m31.564s.

Prema-run Ferrari junior Armstrong was the only driver to go quicker than that during the afternoon, setting a 1m31.411s in the closing stages.

His team-mate Robert Shwartzman was second fastest in the morning and third overall, 0.169s behind Pulcini, but stopped with a car issue with half an hour remaining in the afternoon.

Niko Kari was fourth for Trident with his morning time, ahead of the other Prema driver Jehan Daruvala, who battled Armstrong for top spot following Shwartzman’s issue.

Juri Vips was the sixth and final driver to get under the 1m32s mark with fourth place in the morning session.

Sauber Junior Team driver Raoul Hyman had followed him in fifth ahead of Artem Petrov, Richard Verschoor and Sebastian Fernandez, with Armstrong and Jake Hughes rounding out the top 10.

In the afternoon, Pulcini was third in front of Liam Lawson, Yifei Ye and Fernandez.

Logan Sargeant, David Beckmann, Yuki Tsunoda and Verschoor completed the top 10.


Day 1 combined times
Pos Driver Team Morning Afternoon
1 Marcus Armstrong Prema Racing 1:32.241 1:31.411
2 Leonardo Pulcini Hitech Grand Prix 1:31.564 1:32.054
3 Robert Shwartzman Prema Racing 1:31.733 1:34.585
4 Niko Kari Trident 1:31.799 1:32.700
5 Jehan Daruvala Prema Racing 1:32.260 1:31.857
6 Juri Vips Hitech Grand Prix 1:31.990 1:32.685
7 Liam Lawson MP Motorsport 1:32.643 1:32.069
8 Raoul Hyman Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:32.132 1:34.547
9 Artem Petrov Jenzer Motorsport 1:32.150 1:32.436
10 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1:32.157 1:32.301
11 Yifei Ye Hitech Grand Prix 1:32.794 1:32.162
12 Sebastian Fernandez Campos Racing 1:32.207 1:32.204
13 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 1:32.245 1:32.365
14 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1:32.325 1:32.246
15 David Beckmann ART Grand Prix 1:32.294 1:32.268
16 Yuki Tsunoda Jenzer Motorsport 1:32.354 1:32.275
17 Pedro Piquet Trident 1:32.287 1:32.874
18 Max Fewtrell ART Grand Prix 1:32.932 1:32.318
19 Felipe Drugovich Carlin 1:32.346 1:34.741
20 Simo Laaksonen MP Motorsport 1:32.711 1:32.360
21 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1:32.531 1:32.464
22 Fabio Scherer Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:32.471 1:32.700
23 Alex Peroni Campos Racing 1:32.491 1:33.504
24 Devlin DeFrancesco Trident 1:32.654 1:32.975
25 Lirim Zendeli Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:32.661 1:32.883
26 Bent Viscaal HWA Racelab 1:33.060 1:33.626
27 Teppei Natori Carlin 1:33.606 1:33.250
28 Andreas Estner Jenzer Motorsport 1:33.449 1:33.648
29 Keyvan Andres HWA Racelab 1:33.852 1:33.569
30 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing 1:33.918 1:34.264