Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship Marcus Armstrong loses second place in Monza FIA F3 opener

Marcus Armstrong loses second place in Monza FIA F3 opener

by Peter Allen

Photo: Joe Portlock / LAT Images / FIA F3 Championship

Marcus Armstrong has been stripped of his second place in the opening FIA Formula 3 race at Monza, all but ending his championship chances.

Armstrong led a portion of the race before finishing second to series leader Robert Shwartzman, with Jehan Daruvala completing a Prema 1-2-3.

But Armstrong was later given a 20-second penalty for exceeding the minimum delta time during the race’s first safety car period.

He drops to 21st place in the results, and is now 60 points adrift of Shwartzman with just 65 remaining from the final three races. He will also have to start Sunday’s race two from 21st on the grid.

With Daruvala inheriting second place, Shwartzman’s lead over his team-mate is now 32 points.

Felipe Drugovich was found guilty of the same offence as Armstrong, albeit under the second safety car period. A five-second penalty drops him from 11th to 16th.

Yuki Tsunoda gains the final podium position while Fabio Scherer takes eighth and reversed-grid pole for race two.


Race results (22 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Robert Shwartzman Prema 42m46.627s
2 Jehan Daruvala Prema +1.391s
3 Yuki Tsunoda Jenzer Motorsport +1.923s
4 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +2.372s
5 Pedro Piquet Trident +3.517s
6 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab +4.557s
7 Liam Lawson MP Motorsport +5.170s
8 Fabio Scherer Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +5.837s
9 Logan Sargeant Carlin +6.830s
10 Leonardo Pulcini Hitech GP +7.473s
11 Teppei Natori Carlin +18.620s
12 Devlin DeFrancesco Trident +8.935s
13 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix +9.924s
14 Max Fewtrell ART Grand Prix +10.951s
15 Roaul Hyman Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +11.728s
16 Felipe Drugovich Carlin +7.206s
17 Bent Viscaal HWA Racelab +13.198s
18 Sebastian Fernandez Campos Racing +15.523s
19 Keyvan Andres HWA Racelab +17.850s
20 Simo Laaksonen MP Motorsport +19.367s
21 Marcus Armstrong Prema +20.599s
22 Andreas Estner Jenzer Motorsport +21.148s
23 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing +22.067s
Ret Alex Peroni Campos Racing
Ret David Beckmann ART Grand Prix
Ret Juri Vips Hitech GP
Ret Lirim Zendeli Sauber Junior Team by Charouz
Ret Niko Kari Trident
Ret Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport
Ret Yifei Ye Hitech GP
Fastest lap: Shwartzman, 1:40.020

Championship standings
1 Shwartzman 179? ?2 Daruvala 147? ?3 Vips 122 ? 4?Armstrong 119? ?5 Lundgaard 97? ?6 Piquet 84? ?7 Hughes 64? ?8 Pulcini 62? ?9 Fewtrell 57?10 Tsunoda 52