Home News Manuel Sulaiman joins Indy Pro 2000 winners list at Mid-Ohio

Manuel Sulaiman joins Indy Pro 2000 winners list at Mid-Ohio

by Ida Wood

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Reigning NACAM Formula 4 champion Manuel Sulaiman claimed his first Indy Pro 2000 win at Mid-Ohio, at the expense of DEForce Racing team-mate Parker Thompson.

Turn 3 Motorsport’s Danial Frost started from pole, but Thompson was able to find a way past into the lead on the opening lap and remained there until the pace car was called out on lap six of 25.

On the restart he held on to the position as his team-mate Sulaiman attacked Frost for second, but after a few laps back at full racing speed his engine appeared to blow up as a thick cloud of smoke came out of the back of his car and he had to stop.

The lap before Sulaiman had passed Frost for second place, which then became the lead once Thompson retired. The pace car was required again because of Thompson’s issues, and after that second appearance Sulaiman had to hold off Frost to earn his first win by 0.4058 seconds.

Pabst Racing’s Hunter McElrea passed championship leader Sting Ray Robb with a few laps to go to complete the podium, with Robb leading his Juncos Racing team-mate Artem Petrov home in fourth.

Colin Kaminsky finished sixth ahead of series returnee Jacob Abel, and there was a gap of almost nine seconds to the battle for eighth place between Kory Enders (DEForce), Antoine Comeau (Turn 3) and Moises de la Vara (DEForce).

In addition to Thompson, Charles Finelli and Andretti’s Devlin DeFrancesco also retired from the race. Robb now has a 28-point lead over DeFrancesco, while Frost has passed Petrov for third in the standings.


Race results (25 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Manuel Sulaiman DEForce Racing 38m38.8008s
2 Danial Frost Turn 3 Motorsport +0.4058s
3 Hunter McElrea Pabst Racing +3.0990s
4 Sting Ray Robb Juncos Racing +5.1469s
5 Artem Petrov Juncos Racing +6.1372s
6 Colin Kaminsky Pabst Racing +7.3255s
7 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports +8.0038s
8 Kory Enders DEForce Racing +16.7780s
9 Antoine Comeau Turn 3 Motorsport +17.1375s
10 Moises de la Vara DEForce Racing +17.4699s
11 Bob Kaminsky Pabst Racing +40.1861s
Ret Charles Finelli FatBoy Racing
Ret Parker Thompson DEForce Racing
Ret Devlin DeFrancesco Andretti Steinbrenner Racing
Fastest lap: McElrea, 1m17.0058s

Championship standings
Robb 275   2 DeFrancesco 247   3 Frost 225   4 Petrov 224   5 McElrea 207   6 Sulaiman 181   7 Thompson 178   8 Braden Eves 163   9 C Kaminsky 146   10 Comeau 131