Home Formula 4British F4 Zane Maloney takes record fifth British F4 win in a row

Zane Maloney takes record fifth British F4 win in a row

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Zane Maloney claimed a record-breaking fifth consecutive British Formula 4 victory after dominating the first race of the weekend at Oulton Park.

The Carlin driver converted pole position into the race lead into Old Hall Corner, and controlled the race thereon to win by 1.349 seconds from JHR Developments? Josh Skelton.

Bart Horsten finished third for Arden, despite closing to within half a second of Skelton with two laps remaining.

Maloney’s team-mate Joe Turney took fourth, beating Double R Racing? Sebastian Alvarez after an early battle between the pair, with Turney making a move up the inside of Alvarez into Old Hall at the start of the fifth lap.

Louis Foster finished half a second behind team-mate Alzarez in sixth, having made up one place during the race with a brave move around the outside of Carter Williams (JHR) on the seventh lap at Old Hall, with Williams finishing seventh.

Double R pair Foster and Alvarez are now 22 and 48 points behind Maloney in the standings.

Arden pair Alex Connor and Tommy Foster, and Richardson Racing?s Luke Browning were also involved in the scrap for sixth early on, with Foster finishing eighth after Connor and Browning both failed to finish.

Browning gradually slowed with a left rear wheel issue and eventually spun into the gravel after the wheel detached itself. Connor pulled into the pits after his car lost power.

Roberto Faria was Fortec Motorsports’ highest placed driver in ninth, with team-mate Mariano Martinez classified 12th after a 10s penalty for a start-line infringement.

Alex Walker scored a point on his car racing debut in JHR’s third car.


Race results (15 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Zane Maloney Carlin 21m19.735s
2 Josh Skelton JHR Developments +1.349s
3 Bart Horsten Arden +2.319s
4 Joe Turney Carlin +6.493s
5 Sebastian Alvarez Double R Racing +8.411s
6 Louis Foster Double R Racing +8.961s
7 Carter Williams JHR Developments +10.242s
8 Tommy Foster Arden +15.986s
9 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +17.664s
10 Alex Walker JHR Developments +31.782s
11 Reema Juffali Double R Racing +37.429s
12 Mariano Martinez Fortec Motorsports +45.614s
Ret Luke Browning Richardson Racing
Ret Alex Connor Arden
Fastest lap: Maloney, 1m24.501s

Championship Standings
?Maloney 202? ?2?L Foster 180? ?3 Alvarez 154? ?4 Horsten 143? ?5 Skelton 101? ?6?Browning 97? ?7?Turney 92? ?8?T Foster 68? ?9?Williams 56? ?10?Connor 55