Home Formula 4Italian F4 Maisano reigns supreme in Friday practice at Vallelunga

Maisano reigns supreme in Friday practice at Vallelunga

by Aditya Banerjee
Brandon Maisano

Photo: ACI Sport

Prema’s Brandon Maisano enjoyed a strong start to his weekend by topping both practice sessions in the fifth round of the Italian F4 season at Vallelunga.

The 21-year-old Frenchman, who leads the Trophy class standings, went quickest in the morning by 0.042 seconds?ahead of teammate, and main series championship leader Lance Stroll.

Italian Mattia Drudi was third quickest, ahead of Leonardo Pulcini, who was the top Euronova driver. Brazilian Joao Vieira, driving for Antonelli, made up the top five, with the third Prema driver Takashi Kasai in sixth place.

Matteo Desideri went seventh quickest, with Keith Camilleri, Andrea Russo and Alain Valente making up the top ten.

The second session saw track temperatures increase considerably, which prevented most drivers from improving on their first session times. Maisano was the one of the few drivers in the top ten in the morning to post a faster time, though his improvement was only eight-thousandths of a second.

Drudi pipped Stroll to second, while Russo and Ivan Matveev made up the top five, the Russian also improving on his lap time in the morning.?Camilleri was sixth fastest, ahead of Euronova duo Pulcini and Andrea Fontana. Kasai and Valente rounded out the top ten.

Practice results
Pos. Driver Team FP1 FP2
1 Brandon Maisano Prema Powerteam 1:35.407 1:35.399
2 Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 1:35.449 1:35.851
3 Mattia Drudi F & M SRL 1:35.590 1:35.599
4 Leonardo Pulcini Euronova Racing 1:35.679 1:36.352
5 Joao Vieira Antonelli Motorsport 1:35.758 1:37.503
6 Takashi Kasai Prema Powerteam 1:35.890 1:36.411
7 Matteo Desideri Antonelli Motorsport 1:35.908 1:36.570
8 Keith Camilleri Malta Formula Racing 1:35.957 1:36.287
9 Andrea Russo Diegi Motorsport 1:35.967 1:36.012
10 Alain Valente Jenzer Motorsport 1:36.100 1:36.414
11 Ivan Matveev SMP Racing by Euronova 1:36.447 1:36.117
12 Lucas Mauron Jenzer Motorsport 1:36.315 1:37.507
13 Andrea Fontana Euronova Racing 1:36.412 1:36.377
14 Mahaveer Raghunathan F & M SRL 1:36.551 1:36.943
15 Nico Rindlisbacher Jenzer Motorsport 1:36.610 1:37.356
16 Edi Haxhiu Cram Motorsport 1:36.648 1:36.807
17 Gustavo Bandeira DAV Racing No time 1:36.375
18 Zackary Dante Malta Formula Racing 1:37.352 1:36.902
19 Bar Baruch Israel F4 by Torino 1:37.116 1:37.280
20 Giovanni Altoe F & M SRL 1:37.200 1:37.215
21 Ali Al Khalifa Antonelli Motorsport 1:37.430 1:38.280
22 Jonathan Giudice Jenzer Motorsport No time 1:38.529