Home Formula 4 Maisano dominates Friday practice at Imola

Maisano dominates Friday practice at Imola

by Aditya Banerjee
Photo: ACI Sport

Photo: ACI Sport

Prema Powerteam driver Brandon Maisano went fastest in both Friday practice sessions of the final round of the 2014 Italian F4 season at Imola by a considerable margin.

The 21-year-old Frenchman, who has clinched the Trophy Class title for drivers born before 1996, was over half a second quicker than Mattia Drudi?in practice one and three tenths faster than the Italian in the second session.

DAV driver Leonardo Pulcini was third fastest in the morning, nine-thousandths of a second behind Drudi. SMP-backed Russian driver Ivan Matveev was fourth, ahead of Drudi’s teammate Mahaveer Raghunathan.

Lucas Mauron was the quickest Jenzer driver in sixth, with Euronova driver and BRDC F4 frontrunner Sennan Fielding in seventh. Andrea Russo, Andrea Fontana and Alain Valente completed the top ten.

In the second session, Raghunathan was an impressive third fastest ahead of Pulcini and Antonelli driver Joao Vieira. Matveev was sixth quickest, with Fielding, Russo, Fontana and Valente completing the top ten once again.

Series champion Lance Stroll was absent from proceedings in free practice, although the Ferrari junior is registered in the official entry list for this weekend.

Practice results
Pos. Driver Team FP1 FP2
1 Brandon Maisano Prema Powerteam 1:46.647 1:46.431
2 Mattia Drudi F & M SRL 1:47.186 1:46.742
3 Mahaveer Raghunathan F & M SRL 1:47.776 1:46.998
4 Leonardo Pulcini DAV Racing 1:47.195 1:47.090
5 Joao Vieira Antonelli Motorsport 1:48.584 1:47.170
6 Ivan Matveev SMP Racing 1:47.602 1:47.199
7 Sennan Fielding Euronova Racing by Fortec 1:47.929 1:47.293
8 Andrea Russo Antonelli Motorsport 1:47.975 1:47.294
9 Andrea Fontana Euronova Racing by Fortec 1:48.126 1:47.824
10 Alain Valente Jenzer Motorsport 1:48.313 1:47.839
11 Lucas Mauron Jenzer Motorsport 1:47.892 1:48.604
12 Edi Haxhiu Cram Motorsport 1:48.324 1:48.006
13 Robert Schwartzman Cram Motorsport 1:48.637 1:48.006
14 Keith Camilleri Malta Formula Racing 1:49.070 1:48.089
15 Shinji Sawada Euronova Racing by Fortec 1:49.856 1:48.316
16 Matteo Desideri Antonelli Motorsport 1:49.279 1:48.384
17 Nico Rindlisbacher Jenzer Motorsport 1:49.236 1:48.648
18 Bar Baruch Israel F4 1:49.382 1:48.673
19 Ali Al Khalifa Jenzer Motorsport 1:49.791 1:49.138
20 Jonathan Giudice Diegi Motorsport 1:50.873 1:49.715