Home Formula 4Italian F4 Brandon Maisano charges from last to victory in final Mugello race

Brandon Maisano charges from last to victory in final Mugello race

by Gruz David
Brandon Maisano

Photo: ACI Sport

Brandon Maisano collected his second victory of the Italian F4 weekend at Mugello after an impressive performance from the Prema Powerteam driver in race three.

Although he was supposed to start from pole position, he triggered a second formation lap and was therefore was forced to start from the back of the grid. As a result, Lance Stroll inherited the first position, however, Andrea Russo took the lead after an impressive getaway despite Stroll forcing him off the track.

After two laps, Stroll reclaimed the lead only to receive a drive-through penalty for his overly-aggressive start.

It was going to be Russo’s race, however, Maisano made a great recovery during the race, passing every single driver and finding himself in second in the final stages of the race.

In the penultimate lap he overtook Russo as well to celebrate his second victory of the season, with Russo and Jenzer’s Alain Valente completing the podium.

The race ended with a huge accident between Mattia Drudi and Takashi Kasai, who were fighting for fourth until Kasai forced his rival off track, putting both drivers out with Drudi going airborne.

Brazilian Joao Vieira inherited fourth while Stroll narrowly missed out on fifth after rejoining eleventh from his penalty, missing out to Andrea Fontana by just 12 thousandths of a second.

Bar Baruch finished seventh respectively, while the top ten was completed by Mahaveer Ragunathan, Gustavo Bandeira and Zack Dante.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap?
1 Brandon Maisano Prema Powerteam 16 laps in 29:30.412
2 Andrea Russo Diegi Motorsport +2.859
3 Alain Valente Jenzer Motorsport +5.596
4 Joao Vieira Antonelli Motorsport +12.590
5 Andrea Fontana Euronova Racing +13.371
6 Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam +13.383
7 Bar Baruch Israel F4 +15.748
8 Mahaveer Raghunathan Cram Motorsport +18.887
9 Gustavo Bandeira DAV Racing +24.820
10 Zack Dante Malta Formula Racing +25.220
11 Lucas Mauron Jenzer Motorsport +30.568
12 Ivan Matveev SMP Racing by Euronova +32.119
13 Edi Haxhiu Cram Motorsport +32.751
14 Leonardo Pulcini Euronova Racing +35.810
15 Nico Rindlisbacher Jenzer Motorsport +35.954
16 Giovanni Altoe Cram Motorsport +51.113
17 Ali Al Khalifa Jenzer Motorsport +1:59.293
18 Mattia Drudi Cram Motorsport +2 laps
19 Takashi Kasai Prema Powerteam +2 laps
20 Jonathan Giudice Antonelli Motorsport +2 laps
Not classified
Keith Camilleri Malta Formula Racing +8 laps