Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Dennis Olsen mounts title assault with race two victory at the Nurburgring

Dennis Olsen mounts title assault with race two victory at the Nurburgring

by Ant Musker
Dennis Olsen

Photo: Francois Flamand/DPPI

Dennis Olsen is emerging as the closest title rival to Nyck de Vries after the Norwegian claimed his second win of the Eurocup season at the Nurburgring.

The Prema Powerteam man started from pole position and had to cope with the distraction of two safety car periods due to accidents involving Levin Amweg, Bruno Bonifacio and Callan O?Keefe and secondly Kevin Joerg and Ryan Tveter.

Olsen remained composed and delivered the result with a six second gap ahead of Charles Leclerc of Fortec Motorsport. Ignazio D?Agosto made it on to the podium for the first time this season finishing in third, as the championship leader de Vries had to settle for fourth place.

Nick Cassidy again could not capitalise on his strong qualifying performance as he, like yesterday, slipped down the field to fifth but still completed a double points finish. A similar feat was achieved by Jack Aitken of Fortec ,who added a sixth place finish to his maiden series podium from race one.

Guest starter Louis Deletraz was seventh and Martin Rump scored his first points of the season in eighth while Egor Orudzhev finished ninth. Andrea Pizzitola rounded out the top ten in his Manor MP car.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam 12 laps in 27:52.246
2 Charles Leclerc Fortec Motorsports +6.003
3 Ignazio D’Agosto Koiranen GP +6.529
4 Nyck De Vries Koiranen GP +7.009
5 Nick Cassidy Koiranen GP +10.666
6 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +10.745
7 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing +10.930
8 Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports +11.527
9 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +12.087
10 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport +12.175
11 Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team +12.674
12 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +14.031
13 Alexander Albon KTR +14.317
14 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports +15.544
15 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing +16.092
16 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam +17.319
17 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport +18.211
18 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering +18.507
19 Victor Franzoni China BRT by JCS +19.915
20 Gregor Ramsay KTR +20.914
21 Vasiliy Romanov Tech 1 Racing +21.287
22 Robin Hansson Fragus BR Motorsport +21.697
23 Julio Moreno Manor MP Motorsport +22.426
24 Josef Zaruba China BRT by JCS +23.237
25 James Allen KTR +23.499
26 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Motorsport +2 laps
Not classified
Levin Amweg ART Junior Team +5 laps
Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing +8 laps
Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing +8 laps
Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +12 laps
Callan O’Keeffe ART Junior Team +12 laps