Home Formula 3GB3 Maini edges Horsten in BRDC British F3 Brands Hatch test

Maini edges Horsten in BRDC British F3 Brands Hatch test

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Hitech GP’s Kush Maini set a strong lap time late on to finish ahead of Lanan Racing driver Bart Horsten in BRDC British Formula 3 testing at Brands Hatch.

The four-part test day took place in windy conditions due to the effects of Storm Ellen within the UK, and the early pace was set by Douglas Motorsport’s Kiern Jewiss.

However, he slipped back further into the day and was pipped by Maini. He did, however, stay just over a tenth behind in the final session although he slipped to fifth.

Horsten made a good improvement throughout the day to jump to second, fractions behind Maini.

Maini didn’t set as many laps as his rivals, while championship leader Carlins Kaylen Frederick – who was fourth – did not participate in the opening session when the lap times were at their least representative.

Chris Dittmann Racing’s Josh Skelton was quick at the start and the end of the day, ahead of Frederick. His fastest lap came in his final tour.

Double R Racing’s Benjamin Pedersen, Douglas Motorsport’s Ulysse de Pauw, Hillspeed’s Sasakorn Chaimongkol, Lanan’s Piers Prior and CDR’s Nico Varrone rounded out the top 10.

The top 14 runners were separated by less than a second.


Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Kush Maini Hitech GP 1m22.746s 50
2 Bart Horsten Lanan Racing 1m22.758s +0.012s 53
3 Josh Skelton Chris Dittmann Racing 1m22.786s +0.040s 56
4 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 1m22.820s +0.074s 45
5 Ulysse De Pauw Douglas Motorsport 1m22.831s +0.085s 55
6 Kiern Jewiss Douglas Motorsport 1m22.866s +0.120s 52
7 Benjamin Pedersen Double R Racing 1m22.895s +0.149s 49
8 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed 1m23.099s +0.353s 51
9 Louis Foster Double R Racing 1m23.117s +0.371s 55
10 Piers Prior Lanan Racing 1m23.245s +0.499s 55
11 Nico Varrone Chris Dittmann Racing 1m23.262s +0.516s 56
12 Oliver Clarke Hillspeed 1m23.571s +0.825s 53
13 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP 1m23.670s +0.924s 56
14 Nazim Azman Carlin 1m23.683s +0.937s 45
15 Manaf Hijjawi Douglas Motorsport 1m23.875s +1.129s 47
16 Joshua Mason Lanan Racing 1m23.921s +1.175s 42