Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania Lynn holds off Auer for race three victory at Timaru

Lynn holds off Auer for race three victory at Timaru

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Alex Lynn recorded his first win of the season on Sunday in race three of the second round of 2013’s Toyota Racing Series at Timaru.

It was Lucas Auer who started the race from pole, but he was overtaken by Lynn into turn one and spent the remainder of the race immediately behind the Brit, crossing the finish line two and a half tenths behind him.

Puerto Rican Felix Serralles had trouble keeping up with the leading pair for most times and even got passed for third by Bruno Bonifacio at one point, but regained that position when the Brazilian went off into the safety barrier on lap 14. It wasn’t enough to prevent Auer regaining the points lead, however.

The top five was completed by Steijn Schothorst and Damon Leitch, while Nicholas Latifi recorded a personal best finish of sixth. Nick Cassidy, the defending champion, was only seventh, but managed to set the new lap record for the track at 57.847 seconds, beating the time set by another series champion Mitch Evans in 2010.

Pipo Derani, Jann Mardenborough and Akash Nandy completed the top ten with Tatiana Calderon a further second off in eleventh.

Dennis Olsen, having originally finished 14th, inherited 12th due to time penalties for false starts which put Tanart Sathienthirakul and Andrew Tang right behind him. Spike Goddard completed the top 15, ahead of Michael Scott and Ryan Cullen.

After the Timaru round, Auer leads Serralles by a mere six points, with the man in third, Cassidy, a further 47 behind. The next round will take place at Taupo on 25-27 January.

Race 3 results

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap Laps
1 Alex Lynn M2 Competition 19m32.674s 20
2 Lucas Auer Giles Motorsport +0.264s 20
3 Felix Serralles Giles Motorsport +3.352s 20
4 Steijn Schothorst M2 Competition +4.390s 20
5 Damon Leitch Victory Motor Racing +4.716s 20
6 Nicholas Latifi Giles Motorsport +6.016s 20
7 Nick Cassidy M2 Competition +7.161s 20
8 Pipo Derani Giles Motorsport +10.688s 20
9 Jann Mardenborough ETEC Motorsport +11.783s 20
10 Akash Nandy ETEC Motorsport +15.204s 20
11 Tatiana Calderon ETEC Motorsport +16.011s 20
12 Dennis Olsen M2 Competition +25.210s 20
13 Tanart Satienthirakul ETEC Motorsport +26.458s* 20
14 Andrew Tang ETEC Motorsport +26.973s* 20
15 Spike Goddard M2 Competition +29.629s 20
16 Michael Scott Victory Motor Racing +30.415s 20
17 Ryan Cullen M2 Competition +31.084s 20
DNF Bruno Bonifacio Giles Motorsport +6 laps 14

* indicates a post-race time penalty

Championship Standings
Pos Driver Team Pts
1 Lucas Auer Giles Motorsport 382
2 Felix Serralles Giles Motorsport 376
3 Nick Cassidy M2 Competition 329
4 Pipo Derani Giles Motorsport 289
5 Alex Lynn M2 Competition 282
6 Damon Leitch Victory Motor Racing 282
7 Steijn Schothorst M2 Competition 270
8 Bruno Bonifacio Giles Motorsport 259
9 Nicholas Latifi Giles Motorsport 228
10 Jann Mardenborough ETEC Motorsport 213
11 Tanart Satienthirakul ETEC Motorsport 181
12 Tatiana Calderon ETEC Motorsport 166
13 Akash Nandy ETEC Motorsport 163
14 Dennis Olsen M2 Competition 146
15 Michael Scott Victory Motor Racing 128
16 Andrew Tang ETEC Motorsport 124
17 Ryan Cullen M2 Competition 122
18 Spike Goddard M2 Competition 98