Home Featured Lundgaard leads the way on first morning of F2’s Barcelona test

Lundgaard leads the way on first morning of F2’s Barcelona test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

ART Grand Prix’s Christian Lundgaard topped the first morning of Formula 2 testing at Barcelona.

It took half an hour until the first timed lap was posted, with Campos Racing’s Ralph Boschung posting a 1m50.310s and being joined a few minutes later on track by his team-mate Gianluca Petecof and the two MP Motorsport drivers.

There wasn’t much of a chance for anyone else to set a lap after that as Carlin’s Jehan Daruvala came to a stop at turn 1 and red flags were waved.

The restart after that was short-lived as Prema’s Oscar Piastri also hit trouble at turn 3 and it wasn’t until the second hour that more drivers went out on slick tyres.

Virtuosi Racing’s Felipe Drugovich was first to demote Boschung from top spot, and there wasn’t a representative pace compared to 2020 set until 80 minutes in when ART Grand Prix’s Christian Lundgaard and Hitech GP’s Juri Vips became the first drivers to lap sub-1m30s.

There was little in improvements after that though, with Lundgaard going faster by a few tenths to end to the session on a 1m29.594s and Drugovich bettering Vips to go second fastest with a 1m29.772s.

Vips and team-mate Liam Lawson ended up third and fourth, just hundredths of a second ahead of MP’s Lirim Zendeli and Virtuosi’s late improver Guanyu Zhou.

Petecof caused the final red flag of the session with a spin into the gravel after turn 2, but was one of five drivers, along with his team-mate, Zhou, MP’s Richard Verschoor and 21st-fastest Robert Shwartzman (Prema) who were on track when the chequered flag waved.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1m29.594s 34
2 Felipe Drugovich Virtuosi 1m29.772s +0.178s 26
3 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m29.988s +0.394s 26
4 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 1m30.006s +0.412s 26
5 Lirim Zendeli MP Motorsport 1m30.078s +0.484s 39
6 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi 1m30.083s +0.489s 27
7 Marcus Armstrong DAMS 1m30.158s +0.564s 26
8 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m30.259s +0.665s 31
9 Oscar Piastri Prema 1m30.425s +0.831s 21
10 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1m30.519s +0.925s 40
11 Dan Ticktum Carlin 1m30.598s +1.004s 34
12 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m30.674s +1.080s 31
13 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m30.723s +1.129s 26
14 Marino Sato Trident 1m30.727s +1.133s 19
15 Bent Viscaal Trident 1m30.727s +1.133s 33
16 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m30.738s +1.144s 33
17 Gianluca Petecof Campos Racing 1m30.882s +1.288s 30
18 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1m30.953s +1.359s 30
19 David Beckmann Charouz Racing System 1m30.973s +1.379s 32
20 Guilherme Samaia Charouz Racing System 1m31.305s +1.711s 31
21 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1m31.435s +1.841s 27
22 Alessio Deledda HWA Racelab 1m37.100s +7.506s 7