Home Featured Jenzer’s Calan Williams fastest in final pre-season FIA F3 test session

Jenzer’s Calan Williams fastest in final pre-season FIA F3 test session

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Jenzer Motorsport’s Calan Williams ended FIA Formula 3 Championship pre-season testing on Barcelona at top with a lap set early on in the final afternoon session.

The benchmark pace for the three-hour session was set just six minutes in, when Williams set a 1m32.519s, putting him half a second up on team-mate Pierre-Louis Chovet.

It wasn’t until the end of the first half-hour that a driver got between those two, as Hitech GP’s Red Bull junior Ayumu Iwasa posted a 1m32.988s.

The top four from that point, completed by Iwasa’s team-mate Roman Stanek, went unchanged for the rest of testing.

Campos Racing’s Amaury Cordeel was initially in fifth, but he got shuffled down to 11th in the final 15 minutes as MP Motorsport’s Caio Collet, HWA Racelab pair Matteo Nannini and Rafael Villagomez, Carlin’s Kaylen Frederick and Jonny Edgar and his own team-mate Lorenzo Colombo all improved.

There was a red flag interruption with 55 minutes to go was caused by MP’s Tijmen van der Helm, and then a second with five minutes remaining that left enough time after the restart for several drivers to do an installation lap while Frederick’s car stopped on track.

The majority of the session was spent in the pits for all drivers, meaning along with Cordeel the likes of Jenzer’s Filip Ugran, Hitech’s Jak Crawford and HWA’s Oliver Rasmussen all slid down the order outside of the top 10 after setting their best laptimes very early on.

Alpine Formula 1 junior Victor Martins, who set the fastest lap of the test in Thursday’s morning session, was 20th fastest and 3.159 seconds slower than Williams as 4.252s covered the entire 30-car field.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.518s 31
2 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 1m32.988s +0.470s 46
3 Pierre-Louis Chovet Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.001s +0.483s 44
4 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 1m33.035s +0.517s 55
5 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m33.069s +0.551s 57
6 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1m33.400s +0.882s 37
7 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 1m33.462s +0.944s 43
8 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 1m33.469s +0.951s 38
9 Jonny Edgar Carlin 1m33.855s +1.337s 38
10 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing 1m33.895s +1.377s 28
11 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing 1m33.920s +1.402s 42
12 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.999s +1.481s 39
13 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m34.028s +1.510s 57
14 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 1m34.254s +1.736s 42
15 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m34.486s +1.968s 39
16 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport 1m34.762s +2.244s 44
17 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m35.628s +3.110s 55
18 Clement Novalak Trident 1m35.636s +3.118s 52
19 Olli Caldwell Prema 1m35.671s +3.153s 50
20 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 1m35.677s +3.159s 49
21 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m35.725s +3.207s 50
22 Jack Doohan Trident 1m35.839s +3.321s 54
23 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m35.843s +3.325s 49
24 Mikhael Belov Charouz Racing System 1m35.871s +3.353s 51
25 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m35.941s +3.423s 51
26 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System 1m35.996s +3.478s 47
27 David Schumacher Trident 1m36.005s +3.487s 51
28 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System 1m36.579s +4.061s 50
29 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing 1m36.677s +4.159s 47
30 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m36.770s +4.252s 23