Home Featured Lundgaard fastest on second morning of testing

Lundgaard fastest on second morning of testing

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Alpine Formula 1 junior Christian Lundgaard was the fastest driver on the second morning of Formula 2 pre-season testing at Bahrain.

ART Grand Prix pair Lundgaard and Theo Pourchaire were the early pacesetters, with Lundgaard the only driver in the 1m43s for the first portion of the session before red flags were waved to retrieve Alessio Deledda’s car after he stopped with mechanical issues.

Action resumed after the first half-hour and Dan Ticktum (Carlin) and Marcus Armstrong (DAMS) didn’t take long to beat Lundgaard’s early benchmark as they both lapped around the 1m43.4s mark.

Drivers were spending more time on track than in Monday’s sessions, and by the end of the first hour laptimes had dropped to 1m42.028s courtesy of Trident’s Viscaal.

He was 0.010 seconds faster than Armstrong, with Hitech GP’s Liam Lawson and Juri Vips, Prema’s Robert Shwartzman and Oscar Piastri, Roy Nissany (DAMS) and Marino Sato (Trident) all lapping sub-1m43s too and pushing Ticktum down to ninth.

The ART GP drivers then went out together and both improved, with Lundgaard reclaiming first place with a 1m41.697s lap and Pourchaire jumping up to seventh. At this point drivers reverted back to saving tyres by staying in the pits, and there was another half-hour before anyone headed out to set some representative laptimes.

In the final half-hour of the three-hour session there was a second red flag interruption, again leaving only Deledda’s HWA Racelab-run car on track. Drivers were quick to return to track when the green flag was shown again with 15 minutes to go, but nobody was able to improve on their previous bests and meant Lundgaard sat top of the timesheet by 0.331s.

Ticktum was eventually shuffled down to 11th, while Virtuosi’s tipped to be title contenders Guanyu Zhou and Felipe Drugovich were several seconds off the pace in 15th and 20th.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1m41.697s 39
2 Bent Viscaal Trident 1m42.028s +0.331s 28
3 Marcus Armstrong DAMS 1m42.038s +0.341s 26
4 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 1m42.256s +0.559s 28
5 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1m42.257s +0.560s 27
6 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m42.299s +0.602s 22
7 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m42.347s +0.650s 42
8 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m42.419s +0.722s 31
9 Oscar Piastri Prema 1m42.462s +0.765s 32
10 Marino Sato Trident 1m42.997s +1.300s 27
11 Dan Ticktum Carlin 1m43.158s +1.461s 35
12 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m43.206s +1.509s 40
13 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m43.616s +1.919s 35
14 David Beckmann Charouz Racing System 1m43.954s +2.257s 48
15 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi Racing 1m43.997s +2.300s 38
16 Lirim Zendeli MP Motorsport 1m44.346s +2.649s 31
17 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1m44.485s +2.788s 31
18 Guilherme Samaia Charouz Racing System 1m44.575s +2.878s 50
19 Gianluca Petecof Campos Racing 1m45.419s +3.722s 33
20 Felipe Drugovich Virtuosi Racing 1m45.865s +4.168s 46
21 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1m45.865s +4.168s 20
22 Alessio Deledda HWA Racelab 1m46.413s +4.716s 13