Home Formula 4British F4 Luke Browning snatches first British F4 win of the season

Luke Browning snatches first British F4 win of the season

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Luke Browning took his first British Formula 4 victory of the season in mixed conditions at Oulton Park in race one.

The Fortec Motorsports driver started from second but went around the outside of pole sitter James Hedley on the opening lap to secure the race lead.

Through the first two thirds of the race he was kept under pressure from Hedley and Zak O’Sullivan, but managed to build a gap to the duo as they battled for position.

In just two laps, he had pulled more than two seconds clear of Hedley, who was forced to defend against O’Sullivan, Alex Connor, Roman Bilinski and Casper Stevenson.

Even after O’Sullivan and Stevenson were able to find a way past Hedley, neither were able to close in on Browning, and he finished 2.7s clear of the rest of the field.

O’Sullivan took second ahead of Stevenson, Heldey, Connor and Bilinski.

As in qualifying, rain started shortly before the race, and got heavier as the session progressed, before clearing towards the end of the 20 minutes.

Though all drivers ran on slick tyres, the field managed the changing conditions well. The only yellow flag period during the race came just after the halfway point, when fourth placed Roberto Faria ran off circuit and brought out the safety car.

He was able to get going again and continued at the back of the order, along with Reema Juffali, who was also delayed at the same time.

Before the safety car period, Frederick Lubin had been under pressure from Abbi Pulling, while Nathaneal Hodgkiss, Christian Mansell and Nico Pino all remained close behind.

Lubin managed to get a good restart while Pulling fell back behind Mansell.

As Pulling and Mansell battled, Lubin pulled away to finish 1.3s ahead in seventh. Mansell held off Pulling and finished eighth, while Hodgekiss completed the top 10.


Race results (14 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Luke Browning Fortec Motorsports 21m02.925s
2 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin +2.783s
3 Casper Stevenson Argenti Motorsport +4.177s
4 James Hedley JHR Developments +4.853s
5 Alex Connor Arden +5.557s
6 Roman Bilinski Arden +7.807s
7 Frederick Lubin Arden +9.036s
8 Christian Mansell Carlin +10.410s
9 Abbi Pulling JHR Developments +10.789s
10 Nathanael Hodgkiss JHR Developments +11.398s
11 Nico Pino Argenti Motorsport +11.818s
12 Matias Zagazeta Carlin +14.309s
13 Reema Juffali Argenti Motorsport +14.938s
14 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +18.764s
Fastest lap: Hedley, 1m23.793s

Championship standings
1 O’Sullivan 120   2 Browning 109   3 Connor 79   4 Faria 67   7 Stevenson 67   6 Mansell 59   7 Hedley 53   8 Bilinski 40   9 Pulling 37   10 Villagomez 25