Home Formula 4British F4 Luke Browning completes British F4 hat-trick at Oulton Park

Luke Browning completes British F4 hat-trick at Oulton Park

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Luke Browning completed a hat-trick of British Formula 4 victories at Oulton Park after a lights-to-flag win in the final race of the weekend.

Browning is one of just three drivers to have won every race in a British F4 round, and the first to do so for a team other than Carlin.

The Fortec driver got a good get away from pole but was unable to shake fellow front row starter James Hedley. Hedley stuck with Browning throughout the race, but an incident at the hairpin on the opening lap brought out yellow flags at the corner and limited overtaking opportunities for the JHR Developments driver.

Hedley fell to around a second behind Browning midway through the race, but a series of fast laps put him back on the race leader’s tail in the closing stages. Browning kept cool under pressure to take the victory and extend his lead at the top of the championship standings.

Zak O’Sullivan, who entered the weekend points leader, took third in a relatively quiet race. O’Sullivan was challenged by Roberto Faria in the second half of the race, but a handful of small mistakes from Faria meant the Fortec driver couldn’t find a way past.

Faria settled for fourth, his own best result of the weekend after contact took him out of the opening race of the weekend and put him t the back of the grid for race two.

Alex Connor took fifth ahead of the battling Abbi Pulling and Roman Bilinski.

Christian Mansell climbed up from 12th on the grid to finish eighth after a race long battle with Casper Stevenson.

Nico Pino completed the top 10.


Race results (15 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Luke Browning Fortec Motorsports 21m09.215s
2 James Hedley JHR Developments +0.520s
3 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin +3.361s
4 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +3.879s
5 Alex Connor TRS Arden Junior Racing Team +7.933s
6 Abbi Pulling JHR Developments +10.283s
7 Roman Bilinski TRS Arden Junior Racing Team +11.936s
8 Christian Mansell Carlin +13.928s
9 Casper Stevenson Argenti Motorsport +15.087s
10 Nico Pino Argenti Motorsport +20.549s
11 Mataas Zagazeta Carlin +21.293s
12 Reema Juffali Argenti Motorsport +28.759s
13 Frederick Lubin TRS Arden Junior Racing Team +52.765s
Ret Nathanael Hodgkiss JHR Developments
Fastest lap: Hedley, 1m23.583s

Championship standings
1 Browning 159   2 O’Sullivan 137   3 Connor 89   4 Stevenson 87   5 Faria 85   6 Hedley 83   7 Mansell 63   8 Bilinski 61   9 Pulling 55   10 Lubin 30