Home Formula 3GB3 Lucas Petersson claims reversed grid British F3 win at Snetterton

Lucas Petersson claims reversed grid British F3 win at Snetterton

by Tim Lumb

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Lucas Petersson claimed the win in the reversed grid BRDC British Formula 3 race at Snetterton from pole position.

The Carlin driver kept the lead at the start of the race, with Douglas Motorsport’s Benjamin Pedersen making up five positions on the opening lap.

The safety car came out on lap two of 10 after Josh Mason – who originally started the race from third – hit the tyre barrier after running wide battling with Nazim Azman.

Petersson was untroubled by Pedersen and the other drivers behind when the race got underway again. He was leading by 3.1 seconds when he took the chequered flag.

Pedersen claimed second while Double R Racing’s Neil Verhagen – who rose up seven spots on the opening lap of the race – completed the podium in third place.

Carlin’s Kaylen Frederick finished the race in fourth. He had a gap of just under 1.5s to fifth place Azman at the end.

Championship leader Clement Novalak was able to hold off Double R Racing’s Hampus Ericsson to take sixth position, having inherited the place when Douglas’s Kiern Jewiss fell to the back of the field with front wing damage.

Race one winner Johnathan Hoggard was also able to fend off his Fortec Motorsports’ team-mate Manuel Maldonado to claim eighth, while Pavan Ravishankar completed the top 10 for Double R.


Race results (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Lucas Petersson Carlin 18m42.939s
2 Benjamin Pedersen Douglas Motorsport +3.100s
3 Neil Verhagen Double R Racing +4.726s
4 Kaylen Fredeick Carlin +6.140s
5 Nazim Azman Chris Dittmann Racing +7.633s
6 Clement Novalak Carlin +9.985s
7 Hampus Ericsson Double R Racing +10.343s
8 Johnathan Hoggard Fortec Motorsports +12.155s
9 Manuel Maldonado Fortec Motorsports +12.582s
10 Pavan Ravishankar Double R Racing +13.548s
11 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing +18.442s
12 Kris Wright Fortec Motorsports +20.338s
13 Kiern Jewiss Douglas Motorsport +1m20.918s
14 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed + 1 lap
15 Ulysse de Pauw Douglas Motorsport +1 lap
Ret Josh Mason Lanan Racing
Fastest lap: Petersson, 1m44.154s

Championship Standings
Novalak 129? ?2 Hoggard 121? ?3 Verhagen 85? ?4 Simmons 78? ?5 Jewiss 75? ?6 Frederick 71? ?7 Maldonado 64? ?8 Ericsson 63? ?9 De Pauw 61? ?10 Pedersen 55