Home Formula 3Euroformula Julian Hanses takes surprise pole for the Pau Grand Prix

Julian Hanses takes surprise pole for the Pau Grand Prix

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Julian Hanses beat his Motopark team-mates to take a surprise pole for the Pau Grand Prix.

The German, whose third place in qualifying for race one was his previous career best in Formula 3, set his fastest lap shortly before a red flag and the onset of rain.

On top for much of the session were his Japanese team-mates Yuki Tsunoda and Marino Sato, who having set identical lap times were split by who had set theirs first. In this case it was Red Bull junior Tsunoda.

Liam Lawson, who dominated Euroformula Open’s first Pau race on Saturday, was fourth fastest but only 0.093s off his pole-sitting team-mate.

Carlin’s Christian Hahn and Teppei Natori had been some of the more mistake prone drivers throughout the weekend, but qualified fifth and sixth, ahead of Fortec Motorsports’ Cameron Das, Teo Martin Motorsport’s Lukas Dunner, Double R Racing’s Linus Lundqvist and the second Teo Martin car of Guilherme Samaia.

Double R had a difficult session, with Lundqvist crashing early on after lapping quickly, and Jack Doohan stopping in the barriers later on.

A separate incident involving Carlin’s Billy Monger gave the team more time to repair Lundqvist’s car and get him back on track, but Doohan’s crash meant the end of the session coincided with the rain, and Ludnqvist was unable to improve on his pre-crash best.


Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Julian Hanses Motopark 1m11.479s
2 Yuki Tsunoda Motopark +0.052s
3 Marino Sato Motopark +0.052s
4 Liam Lawson Motopark +0.093s
5 Christian Hahn Carlin +0.286s
6 Teppei Natori Carlin +0.425s
7 Cameron Das Fortec Motorsports +0.452s
8 Lukas Dunner Teo Martin Motorsport +0.488s
9 Linus Lundqvist Double R Racing +0.493s
10 Guilherme Samaia Teo Martin Motorsport +0.692s
11 Billy Monger Carlin +0.737s
12 Jack Doohan Double R Racing ?+0.843s
13 Calan Williams Fortec Motorsports +1.276s
14 Nicolai Kjaergaard Carlin +1.374s
15 Aldo Festante Teo Martin Motorsport +2.596s
16 Rui Andrade Drivex School +3.246s