Home Formula 2 Luca Ghiotto disqualified from second place in Monaco F2 feature race

Luca Ghiotto disqualified from second place in Monaco F2 feature race

by Peter Allen

Photo: Joe Portlock / LAT Images / FIA F2 Championship

Luca Ghiotto has been disqualified from his second-place finish in the Monaco Formula 2 feature race.

Ghiotto was stripped of the result after post-race checks found his Virtuosi-run car was using not-conforming rack stops.

A statement said the rack stops were “of a thickness that did not comply with Article 2 of the 2019 FIA Formula 2 Championship Technical Regulations and Page 75 of the Dallara User Manual.”

By finishing second in the race behind Nyck de Vries, Ghiotto had moved to within eight points of the series lead, having been 26 back arriving in Monaco. He will have to start the sprint race from the rear of the grid.

Nobuharu Matsushita moves up to second place while Sergio Sette Camara gains third.

Anthoine Hubert gains reversed-grid pole from Louis Deletraz having been promoted to eighth in the results.

Time penalty for Raghunathan

Mahaveer Raghunathan has been given a time penalty for hitting Jack Aitken into the barriers at the Fairmont hairpin late in the race.

A 20-second penalty moves MP Motorsport driver Raghunathan from 14th to 15th in the results, behind Tatiana Calderon.

The contact, which put Aitken out of the race, came after Raghunathan had held the Campos driver up during a flying lap in qualifying and then put up an aggressive defence against him earlier in the race.


Revised result (41 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Nyck de Vries ART Grand Prix 1h30m56.153s
2 Nobuharu Matsushita Carlin +4.046s
3 Sergio Sette Camara DAMS +5.470s
4 Dorian Boccolacci Campos Racing +9.120s
5 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi +1m02.548s
6 Artem Markelov MP Motorsport +1 lap
7 Louis Deletraz Carlin +1 lap
8 Anthoine Hubert Arden +1 lap
9 Ralph Boschung Trident +1 lap
10 Nikita Mazepin ART Grand Prix +1 lap
11 Giuliano Alesi Trident +1 lap
12 Nicholas Latifi DAMS +1 lap
13 Mick Schumacher Prema +1 lap
14 Tatiana Calderon Arden +2 laps
15 Maheever Raghunathan MP Motorsport +2 laps
16 Juan Manuel Correa Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +4 laps
17 Jack Aitken Campos Racing +5 laps
18 Sean Gelael Prema +9 laps
19 Callum Ilott Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +41 laps
DSQ Luca Ghiotto Virtuosi +3.049s
Fastest lap: Matsushita 1m22.243s


Championship standings

1 Latifi 93?? 2 de Vries 92?? 3 Ghiotto 67?? 4 Aitken 62?? 5 Sette Camara 48?? 6 Zhou 44?? 7 Hubert 31?? 8 Matsushita 26?? 9 Jordan King 26?? 10 Boccolacci 24