Home Featured Lorenzo Colombo takes first Formula Renault Eurocup pole of 2019 at Monza

Lorenzo Colombo takes first Formula Renault Eurocup pole of 2019 at Monza

by Josh Suttill


Lorenzo Colombo took the first pole position of the 2019 Formula Renault Eurocup season at Monza, setting a late-flyer to deny rookie Ugo de Wilde.

MP Motorsport’s Colombo topped both practice sessions and followed it up with a 1m49.114s in qualifying to take pole by 0.198s ahead of French F4 runner-up de Wilde – run by Colombo’s old team JD Motorsport.

The duo enjoyed a session-long battle trading fastest times, as de Wilde edged ahead with his final effort before Colombo reclaimed his spot at the top of the timesheets just a few seconds later.

De Wilde’s team-mate and fellow rookie Leonardo Lorandi completed the top three, just 0.011s quicker than M2 Competition’s Kush Maini, who made it three rookies in the top four.

Renault junior Victor Martins took fifth for MP, setting an identical time to Oscar Piastri, driving for defending drivers’ and teams’ champions R-ace GP in his second year in the series.

Esteban Muth was seventh on his series debut for fellow debutants M2, while Federico Malvestiti continued his strong testing form to qualify eighth for fellow newcomers Bhaitech.

Arden’s Frank Bird, starting his third season in the series, was ninth quickest with his team-mate Sebastian Fernandez completing the top 10. The Spaniard is dovetailing a part-time Eurocup campaign with a full FIA F3 season with Campos.

Despite strong pre-season testing and practice pace, R-ace GP’s Alexander Smolyar could only manage 13th while the highly-rated French F4 champion Caio Collet slumped to 21st fastest of the 22 runners, with only biker-turned driver Alessio Deledda slower.

This marks Colombo’s third pole position in the series and his second at Monza as he still awaits his maiden victory. He qualified on pole for the second race at Monza last year, but was beaten to the win by Christian Lundgaard.

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Lorenzo Colombo MP Motorsport 1:49.114s
2 Ugo De Wilde JD Motorsport 1:49.312 0.198
3 Leonardo Lorandi JD Motorsport 1:49.423 0.309
4 Kush Maini M2 Competition 1:49.434 0.320
5 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 1:49.648 0.534
6 Oscar Piastri R-ace GP 1:49.648 0.534
7 Esteban Muth M2 Competition 1:49.702 0.588
8 Federico Malvestiti Bhaitech 1:49.766 0.652
9 Frank Bird Arden 1:49.777 0.663
10 Sebastian Fernandez Arden 1:49.824 0.710
11 Yves Baltas M2 Competition 1:49.859 0.745
12 Amaury Cordeel MP Motorsport 1:49.868 0.754
13 Alexander Smolyar R-ace GP 1:49.900 0.786
14 Xavier Lloveras Global Racing Service 1:49.914 0.800
15 Patrik Pasma Arden 1:49.916 0.802
16 Joao Vieira JD Motorsport 1:49.940 0.826
17 Brad Benavides FA Racing by Drivex 1:50.030 0.916
18 Callan O’Keefe FA Racing by Drivex 1:50.127 1.013
19 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech 1:50.261 1.147
20 Patrick Schott FA Racing by Drivex 1:50.265 1.151
21 Caio Collet R-ace GP 1:50.709 1.595
22 Alessio Deledda Global Racing Service 1:50.999 1.885