Home Featured Lorenzo Colombo and Campos Racing claim their first FIA F3 win

Lorenzo Colombo and Campos Racing claim their first FIA F3 win

by Jordan Edwards

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Lorenzo Colombo put in a controlled drive to take victory in the first FIA Formula 3 Championship race at the Hungaroring, as reversed-grid pole-sitter Jonny Edgar retired.

Campos Racing driver Colombo swept around the outside of Carlin’s Edgar through the opening corner on lap eight of 22 after getting a slipstream, but as the pair exited the corner Edgar slowed and retired.

Edgar had held the lead under pressure from Colombo, around the outside of turn one, at the start of the race. Those two were joined by Hitech GP’s Ayumu Iwasa in battle, as they went through the second and third corners of the opening lap Edgar was able to stay ahead but after touching wheels with Colombo and sending him wide.

Colombo kept in his mirrors, so Edgar picked up the pace but was unable to break away before his retirement.

ART Grand Prix’s Frederik Vesti then also retired, and that led to a safety car period. Colombo calculated the restart well and built a gap while trying to break the tow to the chasing Iwasa who had at one point fell back slightly and been under pressure from Prema’s Olli Caldwell.

Colombo succeeded to take both his and Campos’s first series win, while Iwasa claimed his best F3 result in second place as he had to manage his tyres late on.

Caldwell had a quiet race, holding third place after Edgar’s retirement but unable to match the top two’s pace thereon. He is now up to second in the points. Logan Sargeant kept on the tail of Caldwell for the opening laps and he finished fourth.

Championship leader Dennis Hauger passed rivals Vesti and Jack Doohan early on and then made a late-braking move into turn one on the struggling David Schumacher to move past the Trident driver for eighth.

At the safety car restart he passed Smolyar for sixth, and attacked Clement Novolak in the closing laps.

Jak Crawford and Ido Cohen made contact at the back on the final lap, which led to Cohen not finishing.

Race results (22 laps)

Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing 37m09.098s
2 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP +1.825s
3 Olli Caldwell Prema +2.035s
4 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System +2.762s
5 Clement Novalak Trident +3.235s
6 Dennis Hauger Prema +3.616s
7 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix +4.954s
8 David Schumacher Trident +6.460s
9 Jack Doohan Trident +7.583s
10 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab +7.837s
11 Roman Stanek Hitech GP +8.365s
12 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System +9.559s
13 Arthur Leclerc Prema +9.626s
14 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix +10.572s
15 Victor Martins MP Motorsport +11.439s
16 Jake Hughes Carlin +11.933s
17 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport +12.290s
18 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab +13.688s
19 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing +13.773s
20 Caio Collet MP Motorsport +14.265s
21 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport +14.524s
22 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer Motorsport +15.384s
23 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab +16.627s
24 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System +17.133s
25 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport +18.036s
26 Jak Crawford Hitech GP +18.447s
27 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing +19.652s
28 Ido Cohen Carlin +1 lap
Ret Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix
Ret Jonny Edgar Carlin
Fastest lap: Colombo, 1m35.330s

Championship standings
1 Hauger 120   2 Caldwell 80   3 Doohan 74   4 Vesti 74   5 Martins 66   6 Smolyar 56   7 Novalak 55   8 Collet 41   9 Iwasa 35   10 Sargeant 30