Home Formula 4Australian F4 Lloyd doubles up in final race of the Australian F4 opener

Lloyd doubles up in final race of the Australian F4 opener

by Gruz David
Photo> Australian F4

Photo: Australian F4

Jordan Lloyd leaves the first-ever Australian F4 weekend with the championship lead, having taken his second victory at Townsville.

Lining up on the?pole, Lloyd maintained first position throughtout but received a five-second time penalty as the stewards judged him to have jumped the start.

An incident between BRM teammates Francesco Maiolo and Zane Goddard led to the latter spinning out, which brought out the safety car.

Lloyd kept the lead after the restart and finished first, but the time penalty relegated him to third.

However, the decision has been appealed and eventually overturned, allowing him to retake first.

Drew Ridge and Jimmy Vernon lined up behind Lloyd at the start and ended up completing the podium.

Harry Hayek was fourth, followed by AGI’s Nick Rowe and Dream’s Thomas Randle.

The rest of the top ten was Jordan Love, race one winner Will Brown, Jack Sipp and Goddard.

Luis Leeds retired after early contact with Tom Grech, who ended up 11th.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jordan Lloyd Team BRM 11 laps in 16:49.133
2 Drew Ridge Brian Hilton Sydney Motor Group Team BRM +3.482
3 Jimmy Vernon Team Toolforce Racing / AGI Sport +4.394
4 Harry Hayek Team BRM +5.598
5 Nick Rowe AGI Sport +6.300
6 Tom Randle Dream Motorsport +6.737
7 Jordan Love AGI Sport +7.296
8 William Brown Cars Galore / AGI Sport +8.444
9 Jack Sipp AGI Sport +12.879
10 Zane Goddard Team BRM/BGD Architects/PWR +15.841*
11 Tom Grech AGI Sport +27.097
12 Francesco Maiolo Team BRM +39.670**
Not classified
Luis Leeds Dream Motorsport +9 laps

* – 5-second time penalty
* – 30-second time penalty